Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Max Verstappen leads both sessions on day two of Imola test

Max Verstappen leads both sessions on day two of Imola test

by Peter Allen
Max Verstappen

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship

Max Verstappen ended the two-day in-season FIA F3 European Championship test at Imola by setting the fastest time in both the morning and afternoon sessions on Wednesday.

Having been quickest in the opening session on Tuesday and third fastest overall, the future Toro Rosso F1 driver finished the test having topped three of the four sessions.

In the morning he set the quickest time overall from the test with a 1m36.553s. That was 0.283s quicker than second-placed Jake Dennis, who had set the pace on day one.

Sean Gelael was third, six thousandths of a second ahead of his Jagonya Ayam with Carlin team-mate Antonio Giovinazzi. Giovinazzi’s fellow Italian Antonio Fuoco was fifth ahead of Verstappen’s Van Amersfoort team-mate Gustavo Menezes, T-Sport newcomer Nick Cassidy and Carlin’s Jordan King.

Mucke Motorsport duo Lucas Auer and Felix Rosenqvist completed the top ten.

Rosenqvist was Verstappen’s closest rival in the afternoon, when Verstappen set a best of 1m36.938s. Rosenqvist was 0.335s back, with Dennis keeping up his strong form a close third.

Cassidy ended a promising test for him with fourth ahead of Felix Serralles, Auer, Giovinazzi and Tom Blomqvist, whose summer break had lasted a day longer after mild concussion forced him to sit out of Tuesday’s running.

Alexander Toril put two of T-Sport’s cars inside the top ten in ninth, with King tenth.

Championship leader Esteban Ocon had a low-key day, with 11th in the morning and 13th in the afternoon.

Combined testing results
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing 1:36.553 1:36.938
2 Jake Dennis Carlin 1:36.836 1:37.287
3 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:37.049 1:38.114
4 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:37.055 1:37.370
5 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam 1:37.071 1:37.834
6 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing 1:37.108 1:37.667
7 Nick Cassidy ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:37.116 1:37.289
8 Jordan King Carlin 1:37.144 1:37.592
9 Lucas Auer Mucke Motorsport 1:37.162 1:37.361
10 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 1:37.326 1:37.273
11 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam 1:37.342 1:37.705
12 Nicholas Latifi Prema Powerteam 1:37.393 1:37.770
13 Marvin Kirchhofer Motopark Academy 1:37.497 1:37.910
14 Ed Jones Carlin 1:37.498 1:38.372
15 Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Racing 1:37.535
16 Spike Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:37.559 1:38.299
17 Alexander Toril ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:37.603 1:37.455
18 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam 1:37.625 1:38.345
19 Felix Serralles Team West-Tec 1:37.659 1:37.341
20 Will Buller Signature 1:37.701 1:37.605
21 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing 1:37.709 1:38.272
22 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport 1:37.796 1:38.410
23 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:37.855 1:37.419
24 Santino Ferrucci Fortec Motorsports 1:38.223 1:38.617
25 Sergio Sette Camara EuroInternational 1:38.404 1:39.259
26 Nicolas Pohler Team West-Tec 1:38.639 1:38.842
27 Martin Cao Fortec Motorsports 1:38.784 1:39.099
28 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing 1:38.856 1:40.038
29 Michele Beretta EuroInternational 1:38.856 1:38.751