Home Featured Scherer and Vips share poles in manic second European F3 qualifying at Silverstone

Scherer and Vips share poles in manic second European F3 qualifying at Silverstone

by Ida Wood

Motopark’s Fabio Scherer and Juri Vips shared the pole positions in the second European Formula 3 qualifying session at Silverstone, where the top 20 were covered by less than a second.

Scherer has never raced in Britain before, but managed to top the times on his first visit to Silverstone by a scant 0.049 seconds over Prema’s Mick Schumacher. It was also the Swiss driver’s first pole.

Vips was one thousandth of a second behind Schumacher with his best time, with reigning BRDC British F3 champion Enaam Ahmed going fourth fastest for Hitech GP and as the best home driver. The top four were covered by just 0.077s.

Motopark continued their strong run with fifth and eighth for Jonathan Aberdein and Dan Ticktum, sandwiching Carlin’s race one poleman Sacha Fenestraz and Prema’s championship leader Marcus Armstrong.

Guan Yu Zhou, who narrowly missed out on pole to Fenestraz for the first race, headed Prema team-mate Robert Shwartzman in ninth. Their title-contending team-mate Ralf Aron could only manage 13th.

On second best time it was Vips who took pole, ahead of team-mate Aberdein and Fenestraz. Schumacher led the Prema charge again in fourth, with team-mate Armstrong just behind.

Ahmed beat Ticktum to British honours in sixth, with Zhou, Shwartzman and Hitech’s Alex Palou completing the top 10.


Qualifying results
Race 2 Race 3
Pos Name Team Time Pos Name Time
1 Fabio Scherer Motopark 1m50.460s 1 Vips 1m50.543s
2 Mick Schumacher Prema +0.049s 2 Aberdein +0.113s
3 Juri Vips Motopark +0.050s 3 Fenestraz +0.128s
4 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP +0.077s 4 Schumacher +0.143s
5 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +0.108s 5 Armstrong +0.190s
6 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +0.163s 6 Ahmed +0.193s
7 Marcus Armstrong Prema +0.203s 7 Ticktum +0.214s
8 Dan Ticktum Motopark +0.224s 8 Zhou +0.262
9 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +0.248s 9 Shwartzman +0.263s
10 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.292s 10 Palou +0.315s
11 Alex Palou Hitech GP +0.338s 11 Hingeley +0.338s
12 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP +0.360s 12 Aron +0.391s
13 Ralf Aron Prema +0.370s 13 Scherer +0.404s
14 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +0.511s 14 Sato +0.562s
15 Marino Sato Motopark +0.549s 15 Daruvala +0.671s
16 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +0.664s 16 Fernandez +0.675s
17 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin +0.676s 17 Habsburg +0.677s
18 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +0.699s 18 Troitskiy +0.748s
19 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +0.764s 19 Petrov +0.857s
20 Charles Leong Hitech GP +0.942s 20 Floersch +1.230s
21 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +1.205s 21 Vaidyanathan +1.287s
22 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +1.259s 22 Andres +1.314s
23 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +1.344s 23 Leong +1.466s
24 Petru Florescu Fortec Motorsports +2.190s 24 Florescu +2.537s