Home Formula 3GB3 Will Palmer closes out BRDC F4 season with 12th victory

Will Palmer closes out BRDC F4 season with 12th victory

by Peter Allen
Will Palmer

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

BRDC Formula 4 champion Will Palmer ended the season with his 12th win of the campaign in the final race at Brands Hatch.

Palmer finished ahead of Harri Newey and Tom Jackson, who secured second and third respectively in the final standings by taking those same positions in the race.

At the start, Palmer held the team ahead of HHC Motorsport team-mate Newey from pole position, before the safety car was deployed for a Clearways incident that eliminated Chris Mealin, Omar Ismail and Fernando Urrutia.

After the restart, Palmer began to pull away from the rest and ended up 5.6 seconds clear of Newey, who was pursued to the flag by Jackson after the CDR driver leapt from sixth to third off the start.

Ciaran Haggerty?had started the race just three points behind Jackson and third on the grid, but he fell down the order with a slow start.

Being only eighth at the flag cost the Scottish rookie fourth in the points race to Rodrigo Fonseca, who completed a formation finish for the final top four.

Eight seconds back from the top four at the finish was Sisa Ngebulana, who successfully defended fifth under pressure from a train of cars that filled the rest of the top 10; Jack Lang, Jordan Albert, Haggerty, Ameya Vaidyanathan and Jack Bartholomew.

The race was the final appearance for the first-generation BRDC F4 car, with the new Tatuus-Cosworth to be introduced in the eight-race Autumn Trophy in November.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport 24 laps in 20:10.508
2 Harri Newey HHC Motorsport +5.665
3 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +5.971
4 Rodrigo Fonseca Lanan Racing +8.390
5 Sisa Ngebulana HHC Motorsport +16.055
6 Jack Lang Lang Sport/Gorse Motors +16.548
7 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +16.793
8 Ciaran Haggerty GBR/Ecurie Ecosse +17.199
9 Ameya Vaidyanathan Hillspeed +17.802
10 Jack Bartholomew Lanan Racing +17.982
11 Faisal Al Zubair Hillspeed +20.412
12 Hernan Fallas Hillspeed +21.691
13 Zubair Hoque Sean Walkinshaw Racing +23.132
14 Joe Stables JR Racing +29.193
15 Akhil Rabindra Douglas Motorsport +31.647
Not classified
James Reveler 23 Racing +3 laps
Fernando Urrutia Douglas Motorsport +24 laps
Chris Mealin Lanan Racing +24 laps
Omar Ismail Chris Dittmann Racing +24 laps