Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Verstappen and Russell join Eurocup Jerez test

Verstappen and Russell join Eurocup Jerez test

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Asensi Carricondo / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Asensi Carricondo / Renault Sport Media

34 cars will be taking to the Circuito de Jerez over 27-28 of March for the final Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 pre-season test.

Promising karting graduates Max Verstappen and George Russell will be joining the test, having previously impressed in the 2013 rookie testing day in the series. Verstappen, who has secured a deal to race with VAR in FIA F3, will test with Manor MP, while Russell, who is set for a double campaign in BRDC F4 and FR2.0 Alps, will run with Koiranen.

After impressing onlookers in the previous pre-season test at Barcelona, Charles Leclerc will do both days for Fortec, joined by the team’s regular Eurocup lineup of Matt Parry, Martin Rump and Jack Aitken.

Eurocup teams’ champions Tech 1 Racing will field their usual trio of Anthoine Hubert, Vasily Romanov and Egor Orudzhev, while another French squad – ART Junior Team – will make do with two cars for Aurelien Panis and Callan O’Keeffe.

Andrea Pizzitola and Steijn Schothorst will test with Manor, while JKR will run their Eurocup lineup of Gustav Malja, Ryan Tveter and Kevin Jorg.

Nicholas Surguladze and Ignazio D’Agosto will continue testing with Koiranen GP. Meanwhile, there will be no changes to the KTR lineup, as the team continues to run Alex Albon, Gregor Ramsay and Jules Gounon.

Toyota Racing Series champion Andrew Tang and FR2.0 Alps racer Alex Bosak will join Hans Villemi, Bruno Bonifacio and Dennis Olsen, while another TRS title winner – Nick Cassidy – will test alongside Matheo Tuscher for China BRT.

F3 Open graduate Jordan Perroy will be the sole driver fielded by RC Formula, with Alps team JD bringing two cars for Matevos Isaakyan and Denis Korneev. ARTA Engineering will run three cars for Simon Gachet, Darius Oskoui and James Allen.

Testing lineup
Team Driver
Tech 1 Racing Anthoine Hubert
Vasily Romanov
Egor Orudzhev
ART Junior Team Aurelien Panis
Callan O’Keeffe
Fortec Motorsports Matt Parry
Charles Leclerc
Martin Rump
Jack Aitken
Manor MP Motorsport Andrea Pizzitola
Steijn Schothorst
Max Verstappen
Josef Kaufmann Racing Gustav Malja
Ryan Tveter
Kevin Jorg
Koiranen GP Nicholas Surguladze
Ignazio D?Agosto
George Russell
Prema Powerteam Bruno Bonifacio
Hans Villemi
Dennis Olsen
Andrew Tang
Alex Bosak
KTR Alex Albon
Gregor Ramsay
Jules Gounon
ARTA Engineering James Allen
Darius Oskoui
Simon Gachet
China BRT by JCS Matheo Tuscher
Nick Cassidy
RC Formula Jordan Perroy
JD Motorsport Matevos Isaakyan
Denis Korneev