Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Rump dominates Thursday practice at Teretonga

Rump dominates Thursday practice at Teretonga

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Martin Rump

Photo: Toyota Racing NZ

Giles Motorsport’s Martin Rump got off to a great start in his 2014 Toyota Racing Series campaign, as he topped both Thursday practice sessions ahead of the championship’s opening round at Teretonga.

In session one, Rump beat his teammate Jann Mardenborough by more than 0.6s and was more than a second clear of the rest of the field. With Mardenborough in second, another series returnee Andrew Tang took third, with Russian rookies Egor Orudzhev and Matevos Isaakyan rounding out the top five.

Formula Renault drivers Matteo Ferrer and Ryan Tveter took sixth and seventh, ahead of James Munro, Matt Rao and Damon Leitch.

There was, again, no matching Rump in the second session, with the Estonian narrowly improving on his earlier benchmark. Orudzhev took second ahead of Ferrer, Leitch and Macauley Jones.

Tang was sixth, sharing an identical time with single-seater debutant Pedro Piquet, as Martin Kodric, Michael Scott and Tveter made up the rest of the top ten.

Extensive testing will continue on Friday with three more timed sessions.

Pos. Driver Team P1 P2
1 Martin Rump Giles Motorsport 54.272 54.237
2 Egor Orudzhev M2 Competition 55.361 54.623
3 Matteo Ferrer Giles Motorsport 55.390 54.876
4 Jann Mardenborough Giles Motorsport 54.920 No Time
5 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing 55.668 54.921
6 Macauley Jones M2 Competition 55.927 54.973
7 Andrew Tang Neale Motorsport 55.339 55.019
8 Pedro Piquet M2 Competition 56.342 55.019
9 Gustavo Lima M2 Competition 56.283 56.071
10 Martin Kodric ETEC Motorsport 55.704 55.086
11 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing 55.893 55.106
12 Ryan Tveter Giles Motorsport 55.400 55.179
13 Denis Korneev ETEC Motorsport 56.472 55.200
14 James Munro Neale Motorsport 55.487 55.250
15 Matevos Isaakyan ETEC Motorsport 55.389 55.588
16 Jordan Oon ETEC Motorsport 56.355 55.483
17 Matt Rao Giles Motorsport 55.508 55.747
18 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition 56.058 55.564
19 Robin Hansson Victory Motor Racing 55.777 56.059
20 Alif Hamdan Giles Motorsport 56.726 55.881
21 Neil Alberico Victory Motor Racing 56.425 55.884
22 Brandon Leitch Victory Motor Racing 56.136 55.901
23 Levin Amweg M2 Competition 56.118 56.282

Personal best time in bold
Best time of session in italics