Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Ocon dominates second Hungaroring F3 race

Ocon dominates second Hungaroring F3 race

by Peter Allen
Esteban Ocon

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship

Esteban Ocon kept up his record of winning at every round of the FIA F3 European Championship with a dominant win in race two at the Hungaroring.

After starting on pole, the Lotus F1 junior built up an early advantage over the opposition and stretched that to seven seconds over the 21 lap race.

After four races without points, Ocon’s team-mate and fellow Formula Renault 2.0 graduate Antonio Fuoco returned to the podium in second place. The Ferrari protege had gapped the pursuing Lucas Auer at one stage, but although the Austrian fought back towards the end, Fuoco held on to the place by 0.4 seconds.

Jake Dennis made a fast start to climb from ninth to fourth at the beginning of the race but the stewards deemed his getaway to be too good and penalised him for a jump-start.

That promoted Felix Rosenqvist, who got close to his Mucke Motorsport team-mate Auer at one stage but had to settle for fourth. Max Verstappen was fifth until a drive-through penalty for exceeding track limits. That released Tom Blomqvist, but the race one winner ran out of time to catch Rosenqvist and saw the points gap to Ocon extend to 65 points.

His Jagonya Ayam with Carlin team-mate Antonio Giovinazzi followed, with Gustavo Menezes scoring his best result of the season in seventh. Felix Serralles was eighth ahead of Nicholas Latifi and John Bryant-Meisner.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam 21 laps in 34’14.307
2 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam +6.977
3 Lucas Auer Mucke Motorsport +7.373
4 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +8.294
5 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +9.449
6 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +12.957
7 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing +13.473
8 Felix Serralles Team West-Tec +25.804
9 Nicholas Latifi Prema Powerteam +26.769
10 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Motorsports +28.559
11 Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsports +29.086
12 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam +30.844
13 Felipe Guimaraes Double R Racing +33.778
14 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +34.479
15 Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Racing +34.987
16 Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing +39.234
17 Jake Dennis Carlin +40.163
18 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +54.569
19 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing +54.978
20 Hector Hurst Team West-Tec +59.340
21 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +1:01.572
22 Alexander Toril ThreeBond with T-Sport +1:03.029
23 Spike Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport +1:05.301
24 Michele Beretta EuroInternational +1 lap
Not classified
Jordan King Carlin +21 laps