Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Lynn dominates hectic race two at Vallelunga

Lynn dominates hectic race two at Vallelunga

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 9, Vallelunga (I)

Photo: FIA F3

While European F3’s second Vallelunga outing would produce a rather incident-filled, busy race, none of that ended up mattering to Alex Lynn, who strolled from pole position to take a dominant win.

Lynn’s victory chances were given a significant boost when fellow front row starter and championship leader Raffaele Marciello retired on the grid with smoke coming out of his car.

The Briton, therefore, led from the line and subsequently held on to first through two subsequent restarts, eventually crossing the line way clear of the opposition.

T-Sport’s Alexander Sims could not keep up with his compatriot, but delivered a strong second-place finish, with Daniil Kvyat rounding out the top three.

The Russian Red Bull junior managed to withstand pressure from Eddie Cheever, who settled for fourth – his best finish of the year. Lucas Auer beat Pipo Derani to fifth place, while, in seventh, Antonio Giovinazzi recorded Double R’s highest position all year.

Sven Muller took seventh, with Felix Rosenqvist fighting his way up to eighth from the back of the grid. John Bryant-Meisner scored his first top-ten, while Nicholas Latifi secured the final point.

The status quo, therefore, will be maintained into race three, as Rosenqvist has taken?only four points out of Marciello’s prior 32.5 points advantage.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam 22 laps in 35:18.375
2 Alexander Sims ThreeBond/T-Sport +5.034
3 Daniil Kvyat Carlin +6.912
4 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam +7.834
5 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam +9.095
6 Pipo Derani Fortec +11.456
7 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +12.022
8 Sven Muller Van Amersfoort +13.034
9 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +15.645
10 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec +17.872
11 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +19.862
12 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +20.509
13 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +21.888
14 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport +23.226
15 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport +23.921
16 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort +24.920
17 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport +25.042
18 Harry Tincknell Carlin +27.179
19 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con +27.766
20 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing +31.576
21 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +31.978
22 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +32.251
Not classified
Felix Serralles Fortec +15 laps
Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +15 laps
Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam +22 laps
Jordan King Carlin +22 laps
Jann Mardenborough Carlin +22 laps
Championship standings
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 409.5
2 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 381
3 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam 293.5
4 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam 247
5 Harry Tincknell Carlin 191
6 Jordan King Carlin 152
7 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational 138.5
8 Pipo Derani Fortec 119
9 Felix Serralles Fortec 104
10 Alexander Sims ThreeBond/T-Sport 97
11 Sven Muller ma-con/Van Amersfoort 93
12 Josh Hill Fortec 56
13 Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Motorsport 49
14 Nicholas Latifi Carlin 45
15 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam 44
16 William Buller Fortec/ThreeBond 39
17 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport 28
18 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport 20
19 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing 17
20 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort 12
21 Jann Mardenborough Carlin 11
22 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport 11
23 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport 10
24 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con 3
25 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec 2