Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Rowland delivers wet-track master class in Zandvoort race two

Rowland delivers wet-track master class in Zandvoort race two

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Chris Schotanus

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Manor MP’s Oliver Rowland took his second victory of the Zandvoort Formula Renault 2.0 round in race two with an impeccable drive in wet conditions.

The 21-year-old Brit led every single lap from pole and ended up amassing a 14.6s lead over his nearest rival by the checkered flag.

His feat was made more impressive by the two safety car periods that significantly shortened the amount of green flag running in the 25-minute race. While the first safety car oversaw the start of the race, brought out by the stewards due to difficult weather, the second interruption was caused by an incident on lap four, where three top-ten runners – crowned series champion Matt Parry, Andrea Pizzitola and Raoul Owens – ended their races prematurely.

While Rowland was completely untouchable at the front, there was some intense fighting for the other podium positions. Front row starter Alfonso Celis managed to keep Roman Mavlanov at bay for most of the race, but was finally overtaken on the penultimate lap, settling for third behind the Russian driver.

Josef Kaufmann Racing teammates Dennis Olsen and Steijn Schothorst spent the race fighting it out for fourth, and were eventually both denied the position by Jack Aitken, with Olsen remained ahead of the Dutchman.

ART Junior Team trio of Nicolas Jamin, Tanart Sathienthirakul and Alberto di Folco locked out seventh to ninth. Fortec’s Roman Beregech completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport 11 laps in 26:02.202
2 Roman Mavlanov RC Formula +14.652
3 Alfonso Celis Fortec Competition +16.314
4 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +16.366
5 Dennis Olsen Josef Kaufmann Racing +17.303
6 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing +17.396
7 Nicolas Jamin ART Junior Team +18.389
8 Tanart Sathienthirakul ART Junior Team +20.456
9 Alberto di Folco ART Junior Team +21.265
10 Roman Beregech Fortec Competition +23.534
11 Patric Armand Fortec Motorsports +25.181
12 Andrew Tang Jenzer Motorsport +26.093
13 Fran Rueda AV Formula +39.864
14 Corinna Kamper Fortec Competition +40.339
15 Thiago Vivacqua ART Junior Team +40.682
16 Alex Bosak AV Formula +41.483
17 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +42.153
18 Julio Moreno JTR Racing +43.813
19 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +46.344
20 Andrea Baiguera Brixia Horsepower +58.552
21 Max Biedermann Inter Europol +1:12.977
22 Andres Mendez Mark Burdett Racing +1:22.574
23 Bob Siska SL Formula +1:53.990
24 Ryan Tveter Fortec Competition +1 lap
25 Cedric Freiburghaus SL Formula +2 laps
26 Jakub Smiechowski Euro Interpol +3 laps
27 Josef Zaruba KEO Racing +3 laps
Not classifed
Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +7 laps
Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +8 laps
Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing +8 laps
Michael Markussen KEO Racing +11 laps