Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Jack Aitken claims first Eurocup pole at Hungaroring

Jack Aitken claims first Eurocup pole at Hungaroring

by Peter Allen
Jack Aitken

Photo: Florent Gooden/DPPI

Jack Aitken claimed his first Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 pole position in qualifying for race two at the Hungaroring.

On a damp track, improving conditions meant that the second session was the quicker, and it was Aitken who topped the times with a 2m02.274s.

In an unfamiliar front row, Gustav Malja will start second after topping the earlier group. Row two will consist of Charles Leclerc and Steijn Schothorst, who is yet to score points in the Eurocup this term.

Championship leader Nyck de Vries had to settle for third in his group behind Aitken and Leclerc and will therefore start from fifth, with Koiranen team-mate Ignazio D’Agosto alongside him.

Matt Parry made it three Fortec cars inside the top four in the second session, and he will start seventh ahead of Egor Orudzhev, Bruno Bonifacio and Antoine Hubert.

Championship contender Dennis Olsen will start 12th, next to Nick Cassidy.

Staring grid
Pos Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 2:02.274
2 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:03.541
3 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports 2:02.447
4 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport 2:03.669
5 Nyck De Vries Koiranen GP 2:02.500
6 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP 2:04.199
7 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 2:03.071
8 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 2:04.296
9 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 2:03.313
10 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 2:04.368
11 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP 2:03.346
12 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 2:04.559
13 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports 2:03.350
14 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:04.772
15 Alexander Albon KTR 2:03.548
16 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:04.865
17 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team 2:04.345
18 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport 2:04.916
19 Jake Hughes Strakka Racing 2:04.361
20 James Allen KTR 2:05.254
21 Vasiliy Romanov Tech 1 Racing 2:04.823
22 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team 2:05.652
23 Simon Gachet ART Junior Team 2:05.181
24 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 2:06.409
25 Gregor Ramsay KTR 2:05.340
26 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam 2:06.939
27 Matthew Graham Strakka Racing 2:05.437