Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Hughes and Morris top Eurocup FR2.0 test day at Jerez

Hughes and Morris top Eurocup FR2.0 test day at Jerez

by Peter Allen
Jake Hughes

Photo: Jorge Cunha/DPPI

British drivers Jake Hughes and Seb Morris topped the times on the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 post-season test day at Jerez.

Although the majority of seats were given over to rookies, it was established Formula Renault 2.0 racers who led the way, one day after the final race of the season at the Spanish circuit.

2013 BRDC F4 champion Hughes was in action with the ART Junior Team with whom he contested the final two NEC rounds and posted the fastest time of the day in the morning session.

0.777 seconds adrift in second in that session was Lotus F1 junior Callan O’Keeffe, driving for Prema, and third was Protyre Formula Renault champion Pietro Fittipaldi for Fortec.

The best of the FR2.0 newcomers was Patricio O’Ward, fresh from a French F4 podium on Saturday, for AVF. NEC runner-up Louis Deletraz was fifth for his regular team Josef Kaufmann Racing, ahead of Formula Renault 1.6 NEC driver Max Defourny (ART).

Lotus F1 junior and French F4 ace Dorian Boccolacci was seventh for Prema Powerteam, and the fastest of ten rookies invited to the test by Renault Sport Technologies. Just behind him was his rival and fellow RST invitee Felix Hirsiger for ART. ARTA Engineering regular James Allen and Formula Ford star Harrison Scott (AVF) completed the top ten.

Driving for Manor MP, Morris achieved the second best time of the day to top the afternoon session. Three drivers got to within a tenth of Morris in that session – his former BRDC F4 rival Hughes, Eurocup runner-up Dennis Olsen (who joined the test in the afternoon with Strakka) and Deletraz.

Fifth was O’Keeffe ahead of his Prema and Enstone stable-mate Boccolacci, who posted the day’s best time for an FR2.0 newcomer ahead of another his French F4 competitors, Australian Joseph Mawson (Fortec).

O’Ward was eighth ahead of FR1.6 NEC champion Anton De Pasquale (Kaufmann) and current BRDC F4 driver Charle Eastwood (Fortec).

In addition to Boccolacci, Mawson, De Pasquale and Hirsiger, the other Renault-invited drivers were newly-crowned French F4 champion Lasse Sorensen for Manor MP, FR1.6 Nordic runner-up Kevin Aabol with Tech 1, FR1.6 NEC runner-up Ralf Aron at Prema, Nordic champion Joonas Lappalainen for Koiranen, French F4 race winner Denis Bulatov with ARTA and top karter Alessio Lorandi at AVF.

Combined testing results
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Jake Hughes ART Junior Team 1:41.044 1:41.659
2 Seb Morris Manor MP Motorsport 1:42.748 1:41.634
3 Dennis Olsen Strakka Racing 1:41.686
4 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:42.259 1:41.703
5 Callan O?Keeffe Prema Powerteam 1:41.821 1:41.835
6 Dorian Boccolacci Prema Powerteam 1:42.568 1:41.854
7 Joseph Mawson Fortec Motorsports 1:43.294 1:42.043
8 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec Motorsports 1:42.175 1:43.383
9 Patricio O?Ward AVF 1:42.191 1:42.219
10 Anton De Pasquale Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:43.433 1:42.232
11 Max Defourny ART Junior Team 1:42.432 1:43.014
12 Charlie Eastwood Fortec Motorsports 1:43.659 1:42.466
13 Harrison Scott AVF 1:42.704 1:42.517
14 Lasse Sorensen Manor MP Motorsport 1:42.869 1:42.551
15 Felix Hirsiger ART Junior Team 1:42.658 1:43.008
16 James Allen ARTA Engineering 1:42.698 1:43.159
17 Kevin Aabol Tech 1 Racing 1:44.522 1:42.732
18 Valentin Hasse-Clot Fortec Motorsports 1:42.932 1:42.735
19 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam 1:42.861 1:43.209
20 Joonas Lappalainen Koiranen GP 1:44.123 1:42.904
21 Denis Bulatov ARTA Engineering 1:44.111 1:42.906
22 Nicklas Nielsen ART Junior Team 1:45.196 1:43.133
23 Alessio Lorandi AVF 1:43.331 1:43.140
24 Niko Kari Koiranen GP 1:44.641 1:43.166
25 Paul Hokfelt Tech 1 Racing 1:43.656 1:43.209
26 David Droux ARTA Engineering 1:44.989 1:43.314
27 Valentin Moineault Manor MP Motorsport 1:43.585 1:43.633
28 Ferdinand Habsburg Koiranen GP 1:43.598 1:44.111
29 Bryan Elpitiya Fortec Motorsports 1:44.952 1:44.170
30 Julien Falchero Koiranen GP 1:45.398 1:44.424