Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship VAR’s Haverkort picks up maiden FREC pole

VAR’s Haverkort picks up maiden FREC pole

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Niels Broekema / DPPA

Kas Haverkort took his maiden Formula Regional European Championship pole position at the Hungaroring in qualifying for race one.

Championship leader Dino Beganovic struggled to match Haverkort’s pace in Group A and could only place sixth in their group with a late improvement, putting him 11th on the grid.

His main title rival Paul Aron topped Group B, and the Prema driver will start second.

The top spot in both groups changed hands multiple times as laptimes timbled. Haverkort initially set Group A’s pace but was knocked off the top spot by Gabriele Mini. The two swapped positions twice more, with Mini becoming the first driver this weekend to set a sub-1m39s lap.

Haverkort then put in his quickest time, a 1m38.655s lap that earned him pole. Mini could not respond, and remained 0.236 seconds back.

Joshua Dufek was one of the last drivers across the line after the chequered flag and he improved on his final lap to jump to third place, 0.454s off his team-mate. Trident duo Leonardo Fornaroli and Tim Tramnitz completed the group’s top five.

The top spot changed hands even more times in Group B. Aron started the session ahead, then was first toppled by R-ace GP’s Hadrien David, whose team-mate Gabriel Bortoleto and Trident Roman Bilinski also took turns at the top before Aron set a 1m38.905s.

Aron couldn’t improve on that laptime, and it could not deny Haverkort pole, but it was good enough to end his group on top.

David slotted into P2, just 0.031s back. Bortoleto picked up third, with Bilinski and FA Racing’s free practice pacesetter Masson completing the top five.

A late flying lap from Sebastian Montoya put him sixth, meaning he will start alongside team-mate Begnavic on the grid.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.655s
2 Paul Aron Prema 1m38.905s
3 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m38.805s
4 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m38.936s
5 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.052s
6 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m39.019s
7 Leonardo Foronaroli Trident 1m39.109s
8 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m39.098s
9 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m39.172s
10 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m39.118s
11 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m39.267s
12 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m39.162s
13 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m39.276s
14 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m39.222s
15 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m39.314s
16 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m39.253s
17 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m39.370s
18 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m39.348s
19 Noel Leon Arden 1m39.551s
20 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m39.452s
21 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m39.638s
22 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m39.535s
23 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m39.715s
24 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m39.586s
25 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m39.729s
26 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m39.592s
27 Francesco Braschi MP Motorsport 1m39.876s
28 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m39.959s
29 Andrea Rosso R-P-M 1m39.946s
30 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.967s
31 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m40.106s
32 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m40.391s
33 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m40.133s