Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Defourny leads Hubert by 0.001s ahead of Eurocup decider

Defourny leads Hubert by 0.001s ahead of Eurocup decider

by Peter Allen
Max Defourny

Photo: Jean-Michel Le Meur/DPPI

Max Defourny led Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 title contender Anthoine Hubert by just one thousandth of a second in Friday’s running ahead of the deciding round at Jerez.

Unusually, the quickest times were set in the morning session on a green but cooler circuit.

Wildcard entrant Defourny, who finished his NEC campaign fourth in the standings as top rookie, set the day’s best time at 1m40.408s.

Hubert, who is fourth in the Eurocup standings and within 15 points of the lead, was just 0.001 seconds behind the Belgian.

Defourny’s ART Junior team-mate Ukyo Sasahara was third ahead of Simon Gachet and the ARTA Engineering duo of Amaury Richard and James Allen.

Russians Vasily Romanov and Matevos Isaakyan rounded out the top eight with Hugo de Sadeleer ninth and Ben Barnicoat 10th.

All of the top 10 with the exception of Sasahara have the benefit of having contested the Alps round at Jerez last weekend, when Hubert and Barnicoat won the two races.

Isaakyan set the pace in the afternoon session, when the track temperature was around eight degrees higher than in the morning.

His 1m41.665s was four tenths off his own earlier pace and 1.2s down on Defourny’s.

Force India protege Jehan Daruvala was second ahead of Ignazio D’Agosto, Darius Oskoui and Barnicoat, who is fifth in the title race, 29 points down.

Dennis Olsen was sixth ahead of new Alps champion Jack Aitken, who is third in the standings, seven points down.

Joint championship leader Kevin Jorg was eighth in front of Harrison Scott and Hubert.

Louis Deletraz, who heads the standings with more wins than Jorg, was 26th out of 27 drivers in the morning session and 14th in the afternoon, leaving him 25th overall.

Combined times
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Max Defourny ART Junior Team 1:40.408 1:43.068
2 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:40.409 1:42.410
3 Ukyo Sasahara ART Junior Team 1:40.487 1:43.361
4 Simon Gachet Tech 1 Racing 1:40.510 1:42.733
5 Amaury Richard ARTA Engineering 1:40.615 1:43.990
6 James Allen ARTA Engineering 1:41.113 1:43.430
7 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport 1:41.206 1:43.148
8 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 1:41.229 1:41.665
9 Hugo De Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 1:41.313 1:43.486
10 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports 1:41.630 1:42.109
11 Jehan Daruvala Fortec Motorsports 1:42.380 1:41.704
12 Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport 1:41.847 1:43.287
13 Ignazio D?Agosto Manor MP Motorsport 1:42.681 1:41.885
14 Harrison Scott AVF 1:41.962 1:42.386
15 Darius Oskoui Art Junior Team 1:42.911 1:41.995
16 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 1:42.008 1:42.247
17 Julien Falchero GSK Grand Prix 1:42.030 1:43.224
18 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP 1:42.066 1:42.794
19 Dennis Olsen Manor MP Motorsport 1:42.879 1:42.112
20 Valentin Hasse-Clot Fortec Motorsports 1:42.167 1:42.686
21 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:42.389 1:42.248
22 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport 1:42.366 1:42.466
23 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports 1:42.470 1:42.442
24 Bruno Baptista Manor MP Motorsport 1:42.824 1:42.458
25 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:42.997 1:42.580
26 Daniel Pronenko BVM 1:42.856 1:42.598
27 Denis Bulatov AVF 1:43.370 1:42.953