Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup De Vries wins again, clinches 2014 Eurocup title

De Vries wins again, clinches 2014 Eurocup title

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Vincent Curutchet / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Vincent Curutchet / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Koiranen GP’s Nyck de Vries became the 2014 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 champion after taking his fourth victory of the season in race two of the penultimate round at Paul Ricard.

De Vries picked up his second Formula Renault 2.0 title of the year, having previously secured the Alps championship in its penultimate round as well.

The Dutchman kept the lead off the line and controlled the race through a red flag restart and until the checkered flag.

The red flag in question was brought out after a number of incidents over the opening minutes of the race, which left several cars stranded on track and saw the medical car come out to attend to Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Ryan Tveter.

The race was then restarted under safety car and, when the green flag came back out, de Vries immediately began to pull away from the opposition.

The Koiranen driver would go on to build that gap up to nine seconds at the checkered flag as he celebrated his championship triumph.

Fellow front row starter Aurelien Panis ran the race in defensive mode, having to work hard to keep Tech 1’s Egor Orudzhev at bay. The Russian got close to an overtake several times, but had to settle for third behind the Frenchman.

Ignazio D’Agosto was a close fourth, while Steijn Schothorst fought his way up to fifth, recording his best finish of the campaign thus far.

Josef Kaufmann Racing drivers Kevin Jorg and Gustav Malja took sixth and seventh respectively, ahead of Manor MP’s Andrea Pizzitola. Series rookies Anthoine Hubert and Matt Parry completed the points.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 11 laps in 41:48.498
2 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +9.168
3 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +9.415
4 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP +9.817
5 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +10.733
6 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +12.058
7 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +13.830
8 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +15.185
9 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +15.477
10 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +16.414
11 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +17.544
12 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +17.956
13 Alexander Albon KTR +19.249
14 Gregor Ramsay KTR +26.089
15 Callan O’Keeffe KTR +29.802
16 Simon Gachet ART Junior Team +30.227
17 James Allen KTR +30.588
18 Louis Deletraz AVF +31.192
19 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +32.731
20 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP +34.435
Not classified
Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +3 laps
Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +4 laps
Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +10 laps
Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +10 laps
Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +11 laps
Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +11 laps
Jules Gounon AVF +11 laps