Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 NEC De Pasquale seals 1.6 NEC title with Zandvoort win

De Pasquale seals 1.6 NEC title with Zandvoort win

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Lechner Racing School’s Anton De Pasquale brought an end to the 2014 FR1.6 NEC Junior title fight with a convincing win at Zandvoort.

The Australian secured the title with two races to go, picking up his eighth victory of the campaign.

De Pasquale led every lap of the race distance and lapped consistently quicker than the rest of the field, eventually finishing four and a half seconds clear of squadmate Ferdinand Habsburg.

His predecessor – 2013 1.6 NEC champion Roy Geerts – picked up third in the first race of his return to the category, edging out another Lechner driver Florian Janits.

Ralf Aron fought his way up from seventh to fifth, finishing ahead of Max Defourny, with Boris Kolff, Oliver Soderstrom, Paul Sieljes and Cedric Piro making up the rest of the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Anton De Pasquale Lechner Racing School 12 laps in 21:31.269
2 Ferdinand Habsburg Lechner Racing School +4.582
3 Roy Geerts Stuart Racing Team +7.577
4 Florian Janits Lechner Racing School +9.487
5 Ralf Aron Scuderia Nordica +11.783
6 Max Defourny Lechner Racing School +12.243
7 Boris Kolff Provily Racing +17.866
8 Oliver Soderstrom Scuderia Nordica +20.517
9 Paul Sieljes Stuart Racing Team +23.107
10 Cedric Piro Pirosports +30.228
11 Jakob Schober Lechner Racing School +31.114
12 Laurents Horr Dutt Motorsport +32.903
13 Nico Otto Captain Racing +35.729