Home MRF Challenge Alessio Picariello takes victory in MRF Challenge Bahrain race one

Alessio Picariello takes victory in MRF Challenge Bahrain race one

by Peter Allen
Alessio Picariello

Photo: MRF Racing

Alessio Picariello won from pole in the first of Friday’s two MRF Challenge races in Bahrain.

The 2013 ADAC Formel Masters champion was 1.9 seconds clear out front by the end of lap one and gradually extended that advantage to 3.7 seconds over the 10-lap duration.

Russian 16-year-old Nikita Troitskiy lost second place to Tatiana Calderon on the opening lap but regained on the second tour and finished three seconds further up the road.

Calderon held onto fourth under pressure from her European Formula 3 colleague Pietro Fittipaldi, while Matheus Leist was not far behind his fellow Brazilian in his first race in the MRF car after gaining spots on the first lap.

Sean Walkinshaw was a lonely sixth, while Harrison Newey was seventh after holding off the battling trio of Dylan Young, Sam Dejonghe and Max Fewtrell, who traded places throughout.

Tarun Reddy finished on the tail of that group in 11th having started from the pits after stalling from third on the formation lap.

Race results
Pos Driver Time/Gap
1 Alessio Picariello 10 laps in 20:38.123
2 Nikita Troitskiy +3.707
3 Tatiana Calderon +6.664
4 Pietro Fittipaldi +7.110
5 Matheus Leist +8.572
6 Sean Walkinshaw +16.754
7 Dylan Young +21.927
8 Harrison Newey +21.999
9 Sam Dejonghe +22.420
10 Max Fewtrell +22.891
11 Tarun Reddy +23.104
12 Karthik Tarani +27.463
13 Matthew Draper +34.415
14 Arjun Narendran +35.186
15 Jessica Hawkins +39.561
16 Christophe Mariot +1:53.971
17 Laura Tillet +2 laps
18 Nerses Isaakyan +9 laps