Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Vivacqua beats JD teammate Isaakyan to claim maiden pole at Spa

Vivacqua beats JD teammate Isaakyan to claim maiden pole at Spa

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

JD duo Thiago Vivacqua and Matevos Isaakyan dominated the second qualifying of Formula Renault 2.0 Alps’ round at Spa, with the Brazilian eventually clinching the top spot.

This marks 18-year-old Vivacqua’s first pole in single-seaters, coming just two weeks after his maiden podium at Spielberg.

The two JD drivers took the lead as the session entered the final ten minutes, with Isaakyan initially edging ahead.

With three minutes to go, Vivacqua moved to within 0.05s off the Russian – and, as both improved next time by, he managed to beat Isaakyan by a tenth.

Neither the Russian nor anybody else could answer to Vivacqua in time as Daniele Cazzaniga brought out the yellows in turn seven, preventing anyone from putting in a fast lap at the chequered flag.

Today’s winner Jake Hughes was best of the rest, four tenths behind Isaakyan, with Vasily Romanov and Jack Aitken completing the top five.

Koiranen drivers Stefan Riener and Philip Hamprecht followed their squadmate Aitken in sixth and seventh, with newcomer Alessio Lorandi beating fellow GSK driver Denis Bulatov to eighth. The top ten was rounded out by Danyil Pronenko.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport 2:18.183 6
2 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 2:18.313 0.130 6
3 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP 2:18.766 0.583 5
4 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport 2:18.882 0.699 6
5 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 2:18.967 0.784 5
6 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP 2:19.107 0.924 6
7 Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP 2:19.532 1.349 6
8 Alessio Lorandi GSK Grand Prix 2:20.062 1.879 8
9 Denis Bulatov GSK Grand Prix 2:20.159 1.976 8
10 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing 2:20.232 2.049 6
11 James Allen ARTA Engineering 2:20.239 2.056 6
12 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP 2:20.485 2.302 8
13 TJ Fischer Cram Motorsport 2:20.645 2.462 6
14 Mahaveer Raghunathan Cram Motorsport 2:21.488 3.305 9
15 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix 2:21.520 3.337 6