Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Verstappen heads both Norisring practice sessions

Verstappen heads both Norisring practice sessions

by Peter Allen
Max Verstappen

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship

Max Verstappen continued where he left off at Spa a week ago with the quickest time in both Friday free practice sessions in the FIA F3 European Championship round at the Norisring.

The 16-year-old Dutchman, who won all three races in Belgium last weekend, managed a time of 49.029 seconds in the first of the two sessions on the Nuremberg street circuit. He then improved to a 48.387s in the second session.

Maximum potential: Max Verstappen

Mucke Motorsport pair Lucas Auer and Felix Rosenqvist took the fight to Verstappen in the first session, as the only two drivers to get within a tenth of a second of the pacesetter.

Carlin drivers Jordan King and Tom Blomqvist were a quarter of a second adrift in fourth and fifth ahead of Prema rookies Antonio Fuoco and Esteban Ocon. Felix Serralles was eighth, Antonio Giovinazzi ninth and Roy Nissany tenth in the third Mucke entry.

In session two, where every driver improved upon their best time, Blomqvist was the nearest man to Verstappen, 0.085s behind. Auer was third and championship leader Ocon fourth. Fuoco, Serralles, Rosenqvist and Nissany claimed positions five to eight, and were separated by just 0.02s. Jules Szymkowiak was ninth and King tenth.

Combined practice times
Pos Driver? Team Session 1 Session 2?
1 Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing 49.029 48.387
2 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 49.286 48.472
3 Lucas Auer Mucke Motorsport 49.064 48.617
4 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam 49.314 48.684
5 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam 49.303 48.855
6 Felix Serralles Team West-Tec 49.397 48.859
7 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 49.097 48.866
8 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport 49.477 48.875
9 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing 49.907 48.904
10 Jordan King Carlin 49.274 48.917
11 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 49.465 48.922
12 Spike Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport 49.545 48.927
13 Nicholas Latifi Prema Powerteam 49.489 48.976
14 Jake Dennis Carlin 49.483 48.984
15 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 49.712 49.054
16 Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Racing 49.719 49.091
17 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing 49.553 49.144
18 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam 49.827 49.147
19 Mitch Gilbert Fortec Motorsports 49.963 49.162
20 Felipe Guimaraes Double R Racing 50.321 49.302
21 Michele Beretta EuroInternational 50.351 49.480
22 Alexander Toril ThreeBond with T-Sport 50.651 49.610
23 Santino Ferrucci EuroInternational 50.052 49.625
24 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Motorsports 50.419 49.656
25 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing 49.860 49.818
26 Hector Hurst Team West-Tec 50.789 49.909