Home Formula 4 Stroll fastest in opening two practice sessions at Imola

Stroll fastest in opening two practice sessions at Imola

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: ACI Sport

Photo: ACI Sport

Ferrari Driver Academy member Lance Stroll was quickest overall over the first two practice sessions on Friday, in the second round of the 2014 Italian F4 Championship season at Imola.

The 15-year-old Canadian was pipped by Brandon Maisano in the closing stages of the morning session, but managed to beat his Prema teammate in the afternoon. The 21-year-old Frenchman, who is eligible only for the Trophy Class, managed to once again improve by a big margin in the session, but fell short of Stroll by 0.018s.

Championship leader Andrea Russo was the best non-Prema driver in third, ahead of fellow Italians Mattia Drudi and Matteo Cairoli. Euronova driver Leonardo Pulcini?ended up sixth, and was the last driver to clock in a time in the 1:48s.

Swiss driver Alain Valente was seventh quickest for Jenzer, with DAV’s Brazilian racer Gustavo Bandeira beating SMP-backed driver Ivan Matveev for eighth. Antonelli’s Joao Vieira completed the top ten.

In the afternoon session, Drudi was the top non-Prema driver in third, over six-tenths behind Maisano. Pulcini edged ahead of Russo for fourth, while Matveev was sixth quickest, ahead of Bandeira and Cairoli. The Malta Racing duo of Keith Camilleri and Vieira completed the top ten.

Italian driver Andrea Fontana returned to the series with the 11th-best time overall, after having missed the first round due to an illness, where he had been replaced by eventual race 2 winner Ukyo Sasahara. Meanwhile, Indian driver Mahaveer Raghunathan has joined Cram Motorsport (racing under the guise of F & M S.R.L) from the Imola round onwards and took 15th on his debut day.

Combined practice sessions
Pos. Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1:47.697 1:46.979
2 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 1:47.662 1:46.997
3 Mattia Drudi F & M S.R.L 1:48.711 1:47.627
4 Leonardo Pulcini Euronova Racing by Fortec 1:48.851 1:47.799
5 Andrea Russo Diegi Motorsport 1:48.140 1:47.823
6 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing by Euronova 1:49.625 1:48.038
7 Gustavo Bandeira DAV Racing 1:49.598 1:48.250
8 Matteo Cairoli Antonelli Motorsport 1:48.751 1:48.299
9 Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing 1:49.082 1:48.429
10 Joao Vieira Malta Formula Racing 1:49.759 1:48.739
11 Andrea Fontana Euronova Racing by Fortec 1:50.638 1:48.785
12 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport 1:49.394 1:48.798
13 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport 1:49.875 1:48.976
14 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport 2:21.136 1:48.984
15 Mahaveer Raghunathan F & M S.R.L 1:51.255 1:49.480
16 Zackary Dante Malta Formula Racing 1:51.224 1:49.481
17 Ali Al-Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport 1:51.770 1:49.895
18 Takashi Kasai Prem Powerteam 1:51.597 1:50.032
19 Giovanni Altoe F & M S.R.L 1:53.673 1:50.147
20 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport 1:50.281 1:50.601
21 Bar Baruch Israel F4 1:50.435 No time
22 Jonathan Giudice Antonelli Motorsport 1:54.694 1:51.837