Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Verstappen claims tenth European F3 win at Hockenheim finale

Verstappen claims tenth European F3 win at Hockenheim finale

by Peter Allen
Max Verstappen

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship

Max Verstappen scored his tenth win in the FIA F3 European Championship in race one of the final round at Hockenheim, leading from start to finish.

Starting from pole, Verstappen got a good launch but was kept honest in the opening laps by fellow front row starter Lucas Auer.

Verstappen would later pull away though, winning by 3.7 seconds.

Tom Blomqvist challenged Auer into turn one at the start but had to settle for third place after that, seeing his gap to Verstappen in their fight for second in the championship open up from three to 13 points. However, Blomqvist starts the final two races of the season from pole and Verstappen will only be ninth and eighth.

Antonio Giovinazzi followed his Jagonya Ayam with Carlin team-mate home in fourth, while Felix Rosenqvist made up a couple of places on the first lap to take fifth. Jordan King recovered from lost ground on the first lap to finish sixth, putting a move on a subdued champion Esteban Ocon.

The Frenchman had to make do with seventh as his Prema team uncharacteristically seem to be struggling for speed around the German circuit. Behind him, Gustavo Menezes was eighth, while Felix Serralles took ninth after passing Sean Gelael at the second attempt – the first, around the outside of turn 10, saw them make contact and Serralles run wide.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing 22 laps in 34:20.525
2 Lucas Auer Mucke Motorsport +3.783
3 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +10.143
4 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +11.659
5 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +14.467
6 Jordan King Carlin +16.260
7 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam +18.622
8 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing +22.142
9 Felix Serralles Team West-Tec +27.519
10 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +30.659
11 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +33.090
12 Tatiana Calder?n Jo Zeller Racing +37.674
13 Ed Jones Carlin +39.268
14 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam +41.054
15 Jake Dennis Carlin +42.228
16 Nick Cassidy ThreeBond with T-Sport +46.531
17 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam +50.599
18 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +1:01.327
19 Santino Ferrucci Fortec Motorsports +1:03.308
20 Spike Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport +1:03.876
21 Alexander Toril ThreeBond with T-Sport +1:05.066
22 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing +1 lap
Not classified
Stefano Coletti EuroInternational +6 laps
Andy Chang Team West-Tec +9 laps
Michele Beretta EuroInternational +14 laps