Home News Ugochukwu wins F4 UAE’s second race in Dubai

Ugochukwu wins F4 UAE’s second race in Dubai

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: ACI Sport

Ugo Ugochukwu claimed victory again in race two of the 2023 Formula 4 United Arab Emirates season at Dubai Autodrome after keeping Tuukka Taponen at bay for the whole race.

Mumbai Falcons’ Taponen started from pole position after setting the fastest lap in race one. However, a great launch by Ugochukwu from third on the grid allowed the American to take the lead at turn one as he pulled off a move around the outside of Taponen.

A slow getaway led to Pinnacle VAR’s Luca Badoer dropping from second to sixth place by the end of the first lap, while James Wharton would eventually get going after stalling on the grid.

Kirill Smal, Arvid Lindblad and Valerio Rinicella were the ones to benefit from that, moving up to third, fourth and five place respectively.

Lindblad was soon putting pressure on Smal as the MP Motorsport driver lost ground to Ugochukwu and Taponen, but was unable to overtake.

In the middle of the pack, Carlin’s Dion Gowda pulled out a double move on Xcel Motorsport’s team-mates Noah Lisle and Federico Rifai to gain 11th place.

The safety car was out over nine minutes into the race as Victoria Blokhina and Jakob Bergmeister made contact and the latter came to a halt in the run-off with broken rear-right suspension.

The race resumed with five minutes left on the clock, and Ugochukwu stayed in the lead ahead of Taponen.

Badoer attempted a move on Rinicella by braking late at turn one, but was unable to consolidate it as he ran wide. However, he would get ahead of his countryman a lap later to finish in fifth.

Red Bull junior Lindblad eventually got past Smal for third, but he couldn’t close the gap to the top two, who had already opened a gap at the front after the restart.

A fierce battle for the last points-awarding positions among several drivers spiced up the last two laps. William Macintyre, who was running eighth at the beginning of the last lap, saw his efforts go unrewarded as he ended up classified 33rd following contact.

Noah Stromsted finished seventh, ahead of Zachary David and Valentin Kluss. Gowda claimed the last point in 10th place.

Just two seconds separated 11th to 22nd at the chequered flag, in what was a really close fight with several drivers running wide at the last corner of the race.

Noah Lisle was awarded 12th place in a photo finish with Akshay Bohra after they finished on the same time to one thounsandth of a second, and James Piszcyk beat Hamda Al Qubaisi to 19th by 0.001 seconds.

Race results (11 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 26m12.278s
2 Tuukka Taponen Mumbai Falcons +0.726s
3 Arvid Lindblad Hitech GP +5.064s
4 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport +5.617s
5 Brando Badoer Pinnacle VAR +6.628s
6 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +6.981s
7 Noah Stromsted PHM Racing +7.584s
8 Zachary David R-ace GP +13.330s
9 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing +14.427s
10 Dion Gowda Carlin +15.992s
11 Federico Rifai Xcel Motorsport +16.215s
12 Noah Lisle Xcel Motorsport +16.544s
13 Akshay Bohra PHM Racing +16.544s
14 Muhammad Ibrahim Mumbai Falcons +16.743s
15 Niko Lacorte Prema +17.215s
16 Kanato Le Hitech GP +17.419s
17 James Wharton Mumbai Falcons +18.077s
18 Jack Beeton Pinnacle VAR +18.205s
19 James Piszcyk Hitech GP +18.221s
20 Hamda Al Qubaisi Yas Heat +18.222s
21 Kai Daryanani Pinnacle VAR +18.314s
22 Matteo Quintatelli Yas Heat +18.504s
23 Keanu Al Azhari Yas Heat +18.710s
24 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +20.190s
25 Alexander Bolduev Xcel Motorsport +20.529s
26 Flavio Olivieri Cram-Hitech +21.663s
27 Alexander Abkhazava R-ace GP +22.202s
28 Bianca Bustamante Prema +22.701s
29 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +27.369s
30 Victoria Blokhina R2Race +28.391s
31 Fernando Barrichello Carlin +29.287s
32 William Macintyre Hitech GP +29.759s
33 George Zhuravskiy Xcel Motorsport +31.775s
34 Lena Buhler R2Race +38.786s
35 Sebastian Murray Cram-Hitech +1 lap
Ret Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing
Ret Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing
Ret Jakob Bergmeister PHM Racing
Ret Jesse Carrasquedo Jr R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Ugochukwu, 2m02.430s

Championship standings
1 Ugochukwu 51   2 Rinicella 26   3 Taponen 21   4 Smal 20   5 Badoer 20   6 Lindblad 19   7 Wharton 15   8 Kluss 14   9 Stromsted 6   10 Nael 6