Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Tang triumphs in wet second Teretonga race

Tang triumphs in wet second Teretonga race

by Peter Allen
Andrew Tang

Photo: Toyota Racing NZ

Andrew Tang secured a maiden Toyota Racing Series win for himself and the Neale Motorsport squad in a soaking second race at Teretonga.

Tang took the lead as reverse grid pole-sitter Matevos Isaakyan slipped backwards at the start. Race one winner Egor Orudzhev went from eighth to second on the opening lap, and then proceeded to take the lead away from Tang.

The Russian’s stint out front only lasted to lap four however, when he retired from the race.

The conditions meant that very few laps were completed under green flag, and when the race was completed under safety car it was Tang who crossed the line as the winner ahead of Jann Mardenborough and Martin Rump, who made good progress after starting seventh.

Steijn Schothorst was even more impressive, finishing fourth despite starting 18th as a result of his misfire-induced retirement from the lead of race one. He demoted Denis Korneev to fifth in a brief spell of racing before the final safety car period, while Jordan Oon following up his race one podium with sixth.

Tang’s team-mate James Munro claimed seventh ahead of a recovering Isaakyan, while Americans Neil Alberico and Ryan Tveter completed the top ten.

Orudzhev was joined on the sidelines by Robin Hansson and Macauley Jones.

Rump’s double podium puts him into the standings lead, ten points ahead of Tang with Mardenborough a further five back.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Andrew Tang Neale Motorsport 21:28.282
2 Jann Mardenborough Giles Motorsport +1.377
3 Martin Rump Giles Motorsport +1.856
4 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition +2.621
5 Denis Korneev ETEC Motorsport +4.055
6 Jordan Oon ETEC Motorsport +4.390
7 James Munro Neale Motorsport +5.455
8 Matevos Isaakyan ETEC Motorsport +6.014
9 Neil Alberico Victory Motor Racing +6.272
10 Ryan Tveter Giles Motorsport +7.460
11 Matteo Ferrer Giles Motorsport +8.325
12 Martin Kodric ETEC Motorsport +8.672
13 Pedro Piquet M2 Competition +9.364
14 Levin Amweg M2 Competition +10.127
15 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +10.964
16 Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +11.492
17 Gustavo Lima M2 Competition +12.687
18 Alif Hamdan Giles Motorsport +13.429
19 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +14.944
20 Matt Rao Giles Motorsport +1 lap
Not classified
Macauley Jones M2 Competition +4 laps
Egor Orudzhev M2 Competition +6 laps
Robin Hansson Victory Motor Racing +6 laps