Home Formula 3Euroformula Stern finishes Euroformula Open test on top

Stern finishes Euroformula Open test on top

by Gruz David
Yarin Stern

Photo: Euroformula Open

18-year-old Yarin Stern remained the fastest driver on the second day of Euroformula Open Winter Series testing at Jerez after topping two of Saturday’s four testing sessions.

Stern ended the day four tenths quicker than Beitske Visser, who continued her great pace from Friday and topped another two sessions.

Team West-Tec’s Christopher Hoher ensured the unchanged order of the top three as the 16-year-old Austrian went third fastest overall. Karting graduate Alex Palou improved on the second day and became the leading Campos Racing driver of the day in fourth, while Tanart Sathienthirakul from Thailand completed the top five.

The day started with Visser going fastest in session one. She was narrowly quicker than West-Tec trio Hoher, Cameron Twynham and Sathienthirakul, while Palou completed the top five.

The second run of the day saw Stern easily taking the top spot as only Palou and Visser were able to stay within one second. Twynham and Japanese driver Yu Kanamaru rounded out the top five.

In the afternoon, session three was once again Visser’s time to shine. The Dutch driver was more than seven tenths of a second clear of the rest. Hoher was able to get second, closely followed by Stern, Sean Walkinshaw and Che One Lim.

Stern completed the fastest time of the two days testing on the last session as he was the only one who was able to go under the 1m36s mark. Hoher continued to impress with second again, while Visser, Palou and Sathienthirakul completed the top five.

With the first stage of the Winter Series complete, the championship will return for races at Paul Ricard on 1-2 March and at Barcelona two weeks later.

Unofficial results
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2 Session 3 Session 4
1 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec 1:48.726 1:37.363 1:37.097 1:35.830
2 Beitske Visser EmilioDeVillota Motorsport 1:48.324 1:38.009 1:36.229 1:36.532
3 Christopher Hoeher Team West-Tec 1:48.535 1:39.109 1:36.978 1:36.336
4 Alex Palou Campos Racing 1:48.067 1:37.905 1:37.858 1:36.892
5 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec 1:47.721 1:39.557 1:37.378 1:36.929
6 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec 1:47.639 1:38.838 1:38.308 1:36.978
7 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing 1:49.244 1:39.185 1:38.721 1:37.091
8 Sean Walkinshaw Campos Racing 1:49.177 1:40.287 1:37.109 1:37.710
9 Che One Lim EmilioDeVillota Motorsport 1:49.265 1:39.665 1:37.261 1:38.386
10 Yu Kanamaru EmilioDeVillota Motorsport 1:48.105 1:38.985 No Time 1:37.775
11 Wei Fung Thong (Copa) Team West-Tec 1:50.877 1:41.110 1:40.529 1:39.683
12 Chang Wing Chung (Copa) Team West-Tec 1:51.013 1:41.734 1:40.426 1:39.788

Bold denotes personal best time
Italics denote best time of session