Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Schothorst gets first win of 2014 TRS in race two

Schothorst gets first win of 2014 TRS in race two

by Peter Allen
Steijn Schothorst

Photo: Toyota Racing NZ

Steijn Schothorst clinched his first win of the 2014 Toyota Racing Series in race two at Hampton Downs.

The Dutchman, who came into the campaign as a title favourite but suffered a series of misfortunes during the opening three rounds, led from the reverse grid pole position until the chequered flag.

M2 Competition team-mate Egor Orudzhev held second place early on until he was passed by Damon Leitch, who made great progress from sixth on the grid. Leitch set the fastest lap late on, but still finished 3.1 seconds behind Schothorst.

Orudzhev held off pressure from Andrew Tang to secure his second podium finish of the weekend. Matt Rao finished fifth, as he did in race one.

James Munro held sixth for most of the race under pressure from Robin Hansson, until falling back to 15th on the last lap. Hansson inherited sixth ahead of Dennis Korneev,?Macauley Jones and Matevos Isaakyan.

Race one winner and points leader Jann Mardenborough started fourth but went backwards at the start, finishing up tenth. That was enough for him to keep the points lead, just three ahead of Tang. Leitch and Orduzhev are also within 20 points of the leader with four races remaining.

UPDATE: Matt Rao received a five-second post-race penalty that demoted him five places to P10.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition 15 laps in 15:25.605
2 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +3.138
3 Egor Orudzhev M2 Competition +8.277
4 Andrew Tang Neale Motorsport +8.514
5 Robin Hansson Victory Motor Racing +15.123
6 Denis Korneev ETEC Motorsport +16.602
7 Macauley Jones M2 Competition +17.136
8 Matevos Isaakyan ETEC Motorsport +17.925
9 Jann Mardenborough Giles Motorsport +18.384
10 Matt Rao Giles Motorsport +19.283*
11 Gustavo Lima M2 Competition +19.582
12 Levin Amweg M2 Competition +20.148
13 Martin Rump Giles Motorsport +20.190
14 Neil Alberico Victory Motor Racing +23.130
15 James Munro Neale Motorsport +23.447
16 Matteo Ferrer Giles Motorsport +23.453
17 Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +25.646
18 Jordan Oon ETEC Motorsport +26.236
19 Ryan Tveter Giles Motorsport +26.788
20 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +27.660
21 Martin Kodric ETEC Motorsport +28.145
22 Alif Hamdan Giles Motorsport +29.748