Home Formula 4British F4 Rosso completes Brands Hatch treble in wet season finale

Rosso completes Brands Hatch treble in wet season finale

by Peter Allen

Juan Rosso has ended the Formula Ford GB campaign with a triple win at Brands Hatch, claiming a lights-to-flag win a wet final race.

Starting on pole for the first time, the Argentine kept his lead off the start and put a lead of more than three seconds between himself and second-placed Simon Rudd on the first lap.

That advantage was wiped out however by the safety car which intervened after Max Marshall ran into the back of JTR team-mate Sam Brabham at the final corner, sending both off into the tyre wall on the outside.

At the restart on lap five the third and final JTR car exited the race when Camren Kaminsky went off into the Paddock Hill gravel trap after going side-by-side with Jayde Kruger for third.

Privateers Andy Richardson and James Abbott came through to battle over second place, Richardson winning that particular fight as he finished 2.9 seconds behind Rosso.

Kruger came home fourth ahead of Harrison Scott, who was forced to recover from a spin out of the first corner of the race. Rudd finished his series debut weekend with a sixth place while Connor Mills and Luke Reade completed the eight finishers.

After winning the Scholarship Cup for single-seater newcomers and finishing second in the overall standings to dominant champion Dan Cammish, Scott has also been awarded the championship’s Road to Indy prize by a judging panel and will travel to the United States for tests in F2000 and Star Mazda machinery.

Rosso – who had missed the season’s earlier visit to Brands Hatch through injury – finished the year third in the standings. He suggested to ITV Sport’s Steve Rider after the race that he will have to raise more funding in order to secure a 2014 programme. That follows uncertainty around the Velociudad driver programme that he has been a part of together with Nico Maranzana and Eric Lichtenstein – both of whom who’ve seen their respective campaigns in Formula Ford and GP3 end early.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Juan Rosso Jamun Racing 9 laps in 17:33.100
2 Andy Richardson Richardson Racing +2.938
3 James Abbott Radical Motorsport +5.369
4 Jayde Kruger Jamun Racing +6.953
5 Harrison Scott Falcon Motorsport +11.483
6 Simon Rudd Falcon Motorsport +20.463
7 Connor Mills Meridian Motorsport +22.314
8 Luke Reade Falcon Motorsport +36.493
Not classified
Camren Kaminsky JTR 4 laps
  Max Marshall JTR 0 laps
  Sam Brabham JTR 0 laps