Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Rosenqvist fastest in practice for F3 finale at Hockenheim

Rosenqvist fastest in practice for F3 finale at Hockenheim

by Peter Allen
Felix Rosenqvist

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship

Felix Rosenqvist showed he’s got the speed to take the fight to Raffaele Marciello?in the race for the FIA F3 European Championship title this weekend at Hockenheim as he posted the fastest time in free practice.

Rosenqvist – who lies 45.5 points behind Marciello with 75 available in the final race weekend – went quickest in the first of the two sessions, managing a time of 1m33.692s.

That was 0.095 seconds ahead of second-placed Alex Lynn. Van Amersfoort Racing had a strong showing with their two drivers Sven Muller and Dennis van de Laar in third and fifth respectively, either side of Lucas Auer.

Marciello was sixth ahead of Nick Cassidy, who was the quickest of the five Carlin cars in the first session as he makes his debut for the team and his second series appearance of the year.

John Bryant-Meisner was eighth for Fortec ahead of Eddie Cheever and Pipo Derani.

Harry Tincknell was fastest in the second segment of practice, his time of 1m33.977s falling nearly three tenths shy of Rosenqvist’s benchmark. Lynn was again second with Cassidy doing even better than before in third.

Auer was fourth ahead of Jordan King and Tom Blomqvist. Nicolas Latifi was seventh ahead of Marciello, van de Laar and Cheever.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 1:33.692 1:34.587
2 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam 1:33.787 1:34.178
3 Sven Muller Van Amersfoort 1:33.857 1:34.686
4 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam 1:33.873 1:34.283
5 Harry Tincknell Carlin 1:34.510 1:33.977
6 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort 1:33.891 1:34.388
7 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 1:33.989 1:34.383
8 Nick Cassidy Carlin 1:34.050 1:34.255
9 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec 1:34.136 1:34.712
10 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam 1:34.150 1:34.435
11 Pipo Derani Fortec 1:34.219 1:34.871
12 Jordan King Carlin 1:34.551 1:34.351
13 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational 1:34.877 1:34.360
14 Nicholas Latifi Carlin 1:34.517 1:34.361
15 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing 1:34.364 1:34.516
16 Felix Serralles Fortec 1:34.372 1:34.680
17 Jann Mardenborough Carlin 1:34.843 1:34.560
18 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport 1:34.571 1:34.915
19 Kevin Korjus ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:34.587 1:34.664
20 Stefano Coletti ma-con 1:34.982 1:35.429
21 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport 1:35.016 1:35.704
22 Sean Gelael Double R Racing 1:35.019 1:35.226
23 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport 1:35.238 1:35.048
24 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport 1:35.648 1:35.053
25 Spike Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:35.284 1:35.617
26 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing 1:35.516 1:36.032
27 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing 1:35.583 1:36.168
28 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con 1:36.337 No Time

Quickest personal time in bold
Quickest time of session in italics