Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Ocon wins race two at Hockenheim after Verstappen woes

Ocon wins race two at Hockenheim after Verstappen woes

by Peter Allen
Esteban Ocon

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship

Esteban Ocon extended his FIA F3 European Championship lead with a controlled win in race two at Hockenheim.

Ocon started from P2 on the grid but benefited from pre-race technical issues for poleman Max Verstappen that prevented the karting graduate from starting the race.

Antonio Giovinazzi kept Ocon within around a second for much of the race – helped by a late safety car period – but was never really close enough to launch an attack.

Ocon’s second win of the season increases his championship lead by 18 points.

Ed Jones held third throughout, claiming his second podium of the weekend after seeing off a late attack from Lucas Auer, who had charged up from seventh on the grid. Tom Blomqvist also made progress, recovering from the grid penalty that meant he started 11th to finish in fifth.

Nicholas Latifi claimed sixth after a great wheel-to-wheel battle with Felix Serralles that began at the hairpin and lasted for six corners. Felix Rosenqvist also got past Serralles after the restart to take seventh. Jordan King was ninth, while Jake Dennis took tenth after taking the place back away from Mitch Gilbert.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap?
1 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam 22 laps in 35:24.768
2 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +0.969
3 Ed Jones Carlin +2.387
4 Lucas Auer Mucke Motorsport +2.836
5 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +3.227
6 Nicholas Latifi Prema Powerteam +4.346
7 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +5.222
8 F?lix Serrall?s Team West-Tec +6.183
9 Jordan King Carlin +6.962
10 Jake Dennis Carlin +8.339
11 Mitch Gilbert Fortec Motorsports +8.961
12 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam +10.309
13 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Motorsports +11.112
14 Felipe Guimaraes Double R Racing +11.377
15 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +12.148
16 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing +12.266
17 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +12.522
18 Riccardo Agostini EuroInternational +12.760
19 Alexander Toril ThreeBond with T-Sport +12.973
20 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +13.596
21 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing +14.723
22 Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Racing +14.903
23 Hector Hurst Team West-Tec +16.410
24 Richard Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport +33.253
Not classified
Michele Beretta EuroInternational +5 laps
Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam +19 laps
Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing +22 laps