Home Featured Mini fastest in messy FRegional Europe practice in Monaco

Mini fastest in messy FRegional Europe practice in Monaco

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

ART Grand Prix driver Gabriele Mini set the pace in a frequently interrupted Formula Regional European Championship practice session on the streets of Monaco.

R-ace GP’s Gabriel Bortoleto was the fastest driver early on, but had his best lap deleted as he caused the session to be paused following a crash at Portier.

Bortoleto’s lap deletion promoted MP Motorsport’s Michael Belov to the top of the times, although very quickly he was usurped by Mini and then R-ace’s Hadrien David.

There were also more drivers making costly errors, as FA Racing’s Esteban Mason went off at Ste Devote, ART GP’s Mari Boya went off at Mirabeau and caused a full course yellow, and a few minutes later Monolite Racing’s Cenyu Han was the instigator of a second FCY.

This prevented drivers from improving on their laptimes, and there was another red flag period when Prema’s Sebastian Montoya hit the Ste Devote barriers and David collided with G4 Racing’s Axel Gnos at Rascasse.

Free practice restarted with a few minutes to go and there was more drama. Arden’s Joshua Duerksen found the barriers at Ste Devote, bringing out yellow flags at the corner, then MP’s Dilano van’t Hoff crashed at the same corner.

The chequered flag was being waved by this point, but that didn’t stop the chaos as David ended up in another incident by running into Trident’s Tim Tramnitz at the Swimming Pool section. Tramnitz was not on a flying lap as he entered those corners, and David came up behind him and made contact before hitting the outside barriers quite hard. Despite the session already being over, the incident also brought out red flags.

Mini ended up fastest with his earlier benchmark, ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort, Laurens van Hoepen, Prema’s Paul Aron and Dino Beganovic, FA Racing’s Victor Bernier, Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli, Montoya, Belov and Trident’s Roman Bilinski.

Additional reporting by Roger Gascoigne

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m30.585s 21
2 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.190s +0.605s 21
3 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m31.262s +0.677s 22
4 Paul Aron Prema 1m31.340s +0.755s 22
5 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m31.389s +1.254s 21
6 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m31.852s +1.267s 21
7 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m31.864s +1.279s 21
8 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m31.977s +1.392s 21
9 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m31.982s +1.397s 22
10 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m32.063s +1.478s 21
11 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m32.383s +1.798s 19
12 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m32.575s +1.990s 22
13 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m32.601s +2.016s 21
14 Noel Leon Arden 1m32.642s +2.057s 18
15 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m32.706s +2.121s 21
16 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m32.832s +2.247s 21
17 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.040s +2.455s 21
18 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m33.142s +2.557s 21
19 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m33.207s +2.622s 20
20 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m33.273s +2.688s 20
21 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m33.904s +3.319s 18
22 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.952s +3.367s 20
23 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m34.108s +3.523s 21
24 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m34.119s +3.534s 21
25 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m34.175s +3.590s 18
26 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m34.226s +3.641s 22
27 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m34.411s +3.826s 21
28 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m34.645s +4.060s 21
29 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m34.811s +4.226s 17
30 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m35.038s +4.453s 10
31 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m35.358s +4.773s 6
32 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m35.829s +5.244s 21
33 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m37.137s +6.552s 21
34 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m37.449s +6.864s 12
35 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m38.278s +7.693s 11
36 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m38.417s +7.832s 9
37 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing no time 3