Home Featured Championship leader Drugovich tops Monaco F2 practice

Championship leader Drugovich tops Monaco F2 practice

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Felipe Drugovich picked up where he left off with the fastest time in Formula 2 practice ahead of qualifying in Monaco.

Drugovich beat the returning Ralph Boschung by just 0.002 seconds at the top of the order.

It was a relatively tame free practice session on the streets of Monaco, though three yellow flag periods did disrupt some drivers’ laps and others struggled to find space to get a clean lap in among traffic.

Boschung topped the times after the early laps, though there was still plenty of time to be found and laptimes soon tumbled.

Drugovich, Boschung and Liam Lawson each took turns at the front of the order. The MP Motorsport driver eventually managed a 1m21.589s lap to put him out of reach of the rest of the field. Boschung was just 0.002s back, while a late improvement from Dennis Hauger put him third in his first ever session in Monaco.

Jake Hughes, who finished fourth, was one of a number of drivers who came close to disaster and brought out the red yellow. Hughes had an off at Antony Noghes and came close to hitting the wall, but managed to get going again without incident.

Juri Vips had a lock up which sent him up the escape road at Sainte Devote before Marino Sato had a similar incident later in the session. They would end the session P16 and P20 respectively.

After multiple traffic-affected laps, Lawson came through to fifth ahead of a late improving Jack Doohan and Jehan Daruvala.

Logan Sargeant, Richard Verschoor and Theo Pourchaire completed the top 10.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m21.589s 26
2 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m21.591s +0.002s 24
3 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m21.637s +0.048s 28
4 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m21.659s +0.070s 27
5 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m21.953s +0.364s 27
6 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m22.033s +0.444s 28
7 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m22.052s +0.463s 27
8 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m22.171s +0.582s 26
9 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m22.181s +0.592s 23
10 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m22.187s +0.598s 26
11 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m22.286s +0.697s 26
12 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m22.330s +0.741s 25
13 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m22.518s +0.929s 23
14 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m22.860s +1.271s 27
15 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m23.055s +1.466s 26
16 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m23.614s +2.025s 25
17 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m23.672s +2.083s 26
18 Calan Williams Trident 1m23.861s +2.272s 26
19 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m23.862s +2.273s 26
20 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m24.018s +2.429s 25
21 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m24.046s +2.457s 25
22 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m24.843s +3.254s 28