Home Formula 4Italian F4 Rowland protege Arvid Lindblad fastest again in his second F4 test

Rowland protege Arvid Lindblad fastest again in his second F4 test

by Ida Wood

Arvid Lindblad was fastest in Italian Formula 4 in-season testing at Misano this week, again doing so in a previous-generation car.

The Red Bull-backed protege of Oliver Rowland is currently in karting and is set to debut in F4 with Van Amersfoort Racing later this year.

At present VAR does not have enough of the new Tatuus T-421 cars used in Italian F4 to run one for Lindblad in testing, so for his first runs in a single-seater last week at Vallelunga – where he was also fastest – and Misano he has driven one of the 2021-spec T-014 chassis instead. Teams have finetuned the set-up on the old car, so it is currently faster than the T-421.

The 37-strong Misano entry list was split into two, with Lindblad spending day one in ‘Group A’. He topped the test’s first session on Wednesday with a 1m35.829s lap, putting him 0.034 seconds ahead of PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin, and a second covered the top 11 cars.

Lindblad also topped session two, improving to 1m35.188s, and this time US Racing’s points leader Alex Dunne was the top driver in a Gen2 car, setting a 1m35.343s. That second morning session, for both groups, would prove to be the fastest session for 12 drivers and most of those were in the top 10.

Prema’s Andrea Kimi Antonelli headed both of Group B’s morning sessions, his best lap being a 1m35.594s, with team-mate James Wharton his closest opponent and 0.049s behind.

Bedrin bettered Lindblad by 0.095s in the first of their group’s afternoon sessions, but Lindblad struck back in their lat session by 0.757s. On both occassions, BWR Motorsports’ Alfio Spina was third fastest.

Prema continued its lockout of Group B in the afternoon, with Wharton and Charlie Wurz heading the two sessions. They were on track before Group A for Thursday, and Antonelli returned to the top with a 1m35.686s lap to top the first session by 0.212s over Iron Lynx’s Maya Weug as BWR added a second car for Rishab Hain.

Weug was among 10 drivers who bettered their Wednesday pace, and it was similar in Group A as Lindblad broke into the 1m34s and nine drivers improved their personal bests.

Wharton pipped Antonelli and Weug by 0.026s and 0.066s respectively in session six, with further improvements coming in from drivers sown the order, and Lindblad ended his morning unbeaten.

He switched to Group B for the afternoon and was 0.796s faster than Wharton in the first afternoon session, but skipped the final running and it was AKM Motorsport’s karter Rashid Al Dhaheri who set the pace. He lapped 0.010s quicker than Antonelli.

Bedrin topped Group A’s final two sessions, heading US Racing’s Marcus Amand both times.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Arvid Lindblad Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.917s 156
2 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m35.343s +0.426s 157
3 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m35.589s +0.672s 166
4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m35.594s +0.677s 173
5 James Wharton Prema 1m35.643s +0.726s 162
6 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m35.695s +0.778s 181
7 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m35.810s +0.893s 159
8 Rashid Al Dhaheri AKM Motorsport 1m35.869s +0.952s 178
9 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m35.898s +0.981s 179
10 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m35.932s +1.015s 80
11 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports 1m35.990s +1.073s 171
12 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m36.007s +1.090s 164
13 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.030s +1.113s 168
14 Pedro Clerot AKM Motorsport 1m36.077s +1.160s 164
15 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.089s +1.172s 172
16 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m36.102s +1.185s 160
17 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m36.106s +1.189s 151
18 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m36.111s +1.194s 191
19 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.130s +1.213s 143
20 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 1m36.164s +1.247s 170
21 Ugo Ugochukwu R-ace GP 1m36.219s +1.302s 182
22 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport 1m36.224s +1.307s 195
23 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.303s +1.386s 154
24 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing 1m36.497s +1.580s 186
25 Noah Stromsted R-ace GP 1m36.580s +1.663s 151
26 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m36.685s +1.768s 172
27 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.737s +1.820s 154
28 Victoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m36.828s +1.911s 149
29 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m36.874s +1.957s 202
30 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.900s +1.983s 153
31 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m36.995s +2.078s 145
32 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev AKM Motorsport 1m37.085s +2.168s 181
33 Loris Clericy R-ace GP 1m37.178s +2.261s 153
34 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.324s +2.407s 171
35 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports 1m38.001s +3.084s 92
36 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m38.028s +3.111s 162
37 SOL driver unknown Maffi Racing 1m38.195s +3.278s 80