Home Formula 4Italian F4 Marcos Siebert fights through to first Italian F4 win at Mugello

Marcos Siebert fights through to first Italian F4 win at Mugello

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: ACI Sport

Photo: ACI Sport

Argentine driver Marcos Siebert took his maiden? series victory for Jenzer in the race two at Mugello, in the fourth round of the Italian F4 season.

Raul Guzman started on pole after finishing tenth in race one yesterday, but was swamped off the grid and fell to fourth. This handed the lead to RB Racing’s Diego Bertonelli, while Siebert and Bar Baruch slotted in behind him.

Siebert began pressurising Bertonelli straight away, soon managed to make a move stick around the outside at the San Donato corner on his second attempt, and began pulling away from the field.

Guzman made amends for his slow start by making identical moves at San Donato on Baruch and Bertonelli to move into second. The Israeli almost got past the Italian, but was baulked and lost fourth to Ferrari junior Guan Yu Zhou.

The three-way battle for third raged on however, and Baruch would have the last laugh when Bertonelli repeated his defensive move at turn one on the last lap, forcing Zhou to brake early and letting the Israeli through.

Mauricio Baiz had a relatively uneventful run to sixth ahead of MSA Formula frontrunner Lando Norris. Joao Vieira held off the fast-charging Lucas Mauron for eighth, who had passed Giuliano Raucci and race one winner Ralf Aron on successive laps.

Raucci rounded out the top ten, with usual frontrunners Aron, Robert Shwartzman and David Beckmann failing to finish in the points.

Race results

Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport 11 laps in 20:03.232
2 Raul Guzman Malta Formula Racing +3.465
3 Diego Bertonelli RB Racing +5.525
4 Bar Baruch Israel F4 +5.598
5 Guan Yu Zhou Prema Powerteam +6.500
6 Mauricio Baiz Vincenzo Sospiri Racing +7.819
7 Lando Norris Mucke Motorsport +9.332
8 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport +10.239
9 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport +10.348
10 Giuliano Raucci Prema Powerteam +10.937
11 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +11.898
12 Robert Shwartzman Mucke Motorsport +12.489
13 Yan Leon Shlom Malta Formula Racing +13.960
14 Kevin Kanayet Malta Formula Racing +14.512
15 David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +16.178
16 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport +16.183
17 Ye Yifei RB Racing +21.809
18 Marino Sato Vincenzo Sospiri Racing +21.846
19 Alex Peroni Torino Squadra Corse +23.839
20 Matteo Desideri Antonelli Motorsport +32.780
21 Mattia Ferrari Antonelli Motorsport +34.288
22 Riccardo Ponzio Teramo Racing Team +35.153
23 Wiktoria Pankiewicz RB Racing +42.722
24 Julia Pankiewicz RB Racing +43.241
25 Fernando Madera Team Costarica +45.722
26 Kikko Galbiati Antonelli Motorsport +2 laps