Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Marciello wraps up F3 title despite another Rosenqvist win

Marciello wraps up F3 title despite another Rosenqvist win

by Peter Allen
Raffaele Marciello

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship/Thomas Suer

Felix Rosenqvist won again in the second FIA F3 European Championship race at Hockenheim but couldn’t prevent Raffaele Marciello putting the title beyond his reach as he cruised to a fourth place.

Rosenqvist led away from pole position as Marciello slipped from the front row to third behind fast-starting team-mate Alex Lynn. The British driver kept Rosenqvist in sight during the early stages but was forced to settle for second, finishing 3.5 seconds behind the Swede.

Marciello appeared to ease off as the race went on and slipped behind Lucas Auer to fourth. That was the minimum result that the Ferrari protege needed to wrap up the title and he was able to cruise to the chequered flag with no pressure from behind.

Harry Tincknell was unable to keep up with the leading four and found himself with a queue behind him early on but was able to remain in fifth. Sven Muller was sixth with Antonio Giovinazzi matching his best result of the year in seventh.

Jordan King passed Dennis van de Laar to take eighth with Eddie Cheever taking tenth after a good pass on Pipo Derani.

There was a peculiar incident further down the order as Kevin Korjus and Felix Serralles tangled on the run to the hairpin after both had served drive-through penalties for “leaving the track”. As Korjus drove straight onto the tarmac run-off with damage to his car, Serralles drove close to him and then appeared to deliberately move towards the Estonian, causing further contact between them.

UPDATE: Felix Serralles has been excluded from race two and moved to the back of the grid for race three following deliberate contact with the car of Kevin Korjus.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 22 laps in 34:51.886
2 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam +3.570
3 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam +7.372
4 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam +15.361
5 Harry Tincknell Carlin +22.011
6 Sven Muller Van Amersfoort Racing +22.464
7 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +23.684
8 Jordan King Carlin +24.244
9 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort Racing +25.686
10 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam +26.412
11 Pipo Derani Fortec Motorsports +27.150
12 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +27.609
13 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +28.747
14 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Motorsports +32.470
15 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +38.089
16 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +38.719
17 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport +41.407
18 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +42.118
19 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport +43.515
20 Spike Goddard T-Sport +49.857
21 Nick Cassidy Carlin +51.148
22 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing +51.935
23 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +54.748
24 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +57.661
25 Stefano Coletti Ma-Con +1:18.909
Not classified
?EX Felix Serralles Fortec Motorsports 13 laps
Kevin Korjus T-Sport 13 laps
Andre Rudersdorf Ma-Con 11 laps