Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Marciello bounces back in race three at Vallelunga

Marciello bounces back in race three at Vallelunga

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 9, Vallelunga (I)

Photo: FIA F3

Having retired from race two with a mechanical failure, Raffaele Marciello made up for the lost points in the final Vallelunga race, taking victory from pole position.

In what turned out to be a customarily incident-heavy race at the Italian track, Marciello didn’t have it all his way, as he was briefly overtaken for the lead by Pipo Derani over the opening lap.

However, he was back into first just in time for the safety car, which came out due to various incidents around the track.

Following the restart, Marciello began to slightly edge away from Derani lap after lap, eventually finishing comfortably ahead of the Brazilian.

The Brazilian himself enjoyed a good lead over the rest of the field, which allowed him to cruise to second.

Alexander Sims took third, having inherited the position when frontrunners Alex Lynn and Felix Serralles interlocked wheels coming into a corner. As both of them lost a number of positions, the Puerto Rican almost immediately joined the list of retirements when he was spun around by Lucas Auer, whose race was also undone by the damage.

Lynn would wind up finishing fourth, wrestling the position away from Jordan King. King then came under pressure from Felix Rosenqvist, yet he managed to keep the Swede at bay until the end of the race.

Carlin duo Daniil Kvyat and Harry Tincknell were seventh and eighth respectively. Dennis van de Laar and Michael Lewis rounded out the top ten, while Jann Mardenborough recovered one point after dropping out of points-scoring zone early on.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 22 laps in 35:30.649
2 Pipo Derani Fortec +3.955
3 Alexander Sims ThreeBond/T-Sport +4.696
4 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam +6.849
5 Jordan King Carlin +15.901
6 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +16.788
7 Daniil Kvyat Carlin +19.801
8 Harry Tincknell Carlin +23.079
9 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort +23.630
10 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport +25.105
11 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +26.789
12 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport +29.266
13 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +29.832
14 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +31.879
15 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport +32.661
16 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec +33.342
17 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +34.867
18 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +36.118
19 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con +36.905
20 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing +43.662
Not classified
Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam +11 laps
Sven Muller Van Amersfoort +14 laps
Felix Serralles Fortec +14 laps
Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam +22 laps
Nicholas Latifi Carlin +22 laps
Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +22 laps
Sean Gelael Double R Racing +22 laps
Championship standings
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 434,5
2 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 389
3 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam 305,5
4 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam 247
5 Harry Tincknell Carlin 197
6 Jordan King Carlin 162
7 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational 138,5
8 Pipo Derani Fortec 137
9 Alexander Sims ThreeBond/T-Sport 112
10 Felix Serralles Fortec 104
11 Sven Muller ma-con/Van Amersfoort 93
12 Josh Hill Fortec 56
13 Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Motorsport 49
14 Nicholas Latifi Carlin 45
15 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam 44
16 William Buller Fortec/ThreeBond 39
17 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport 28
18 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport 22
19 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing 17
20 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort 16
21 Jann Mardenborough Carlin 12
22 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport 11
23 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport 10
24 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con 3
25 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec 2