Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 NEC Ten Voorde scores maiden win in red-flagged Zandvoort race

Ten Voorde scores maiden win in red-flagged Zandvoort race

by Gruz David
Photo: Chris Schotanus

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Larry ten Voorde converted his second pole position into his career-first victory in what was a hectic wet race at Zandvoort.

The drivers barely ended up getting any green flag running in the final race of the weekend, which started under the safety car and was abandoned six laps in.

Title contender Janneau Esmeijer was the first casualty of the tricky conditions, exiting the race on lap two. After another safety car period, the green flag flew again, but, following an incident involving several drivers, the processions were red-flagged.

With the race results rolled back to the five-lap mark, ten Voorde took his maiden win. Championship rivals Roy Geerts and Martin Rump rounded out the podium, the former being one of the drivers who brought out the red flag.

Debutant Jan Schwitter picked up a promising fourth-place finish in front of Mexican Patricio O’Ward and Pontus Fredricsson. The top ten was completed by Tommy van Erp, Paul Blomqvist, Lukas Sundahl and Florian Janits.

Rump and Geerts will go into the series finale with just six points separating them in the standings.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Larry ten Voorde Stuart Racing Team 15:15.375
2 Roy Geerts Stuart Racing Team +0.815
3 Martin Rump Scuderia Nordica +1.645
4 Jan Schwitter Walter Lechner Racing +2.372
5 Patricio O’Ward Provily Racing +2.858
6 Pontus Fredricsson Trackstar Racing +3.764
7 Tommy van Erp Van Amersfoort Racing +5.400
8 Paul Blomqvist Trackstar Racing +6.582
9 Lukas Sundahl Sundahl Racing +8.159
10 Florian Janits Walter Lechner Racing +9.250
11 Karl-Gustav Annus Scuderia Nordica +10.203
12 Brian Kroon Provily Racing +11.185
13 Oliver Soderstrom Scuderia Nordica +12.540
?14 Janneau Esmeijer Provily Racing +2 laps
Provisional championship standings
Pos. Driver Pts.
1 Martin Rump 249
2 Roy Geerts 243
3 Janneau Esmeijer 191
4 Larry ten Voorde 169
5 Tommy van Erp 147
6 Paul Blomqvist 124
7 Pontus Fredricsson 101
8 Lukas Sundahl 88
9 Patricio O’Ward 86
10 Yaro Deckers 77
11 Oliver Soderstrom
12 Otto Tjader 61
13 Joel Affolter 54
14 Karl-Gustav Annus 39
15 Wouter Boerekamps 30
16 Jan Schwitter 29
17 Paul Sieljes 26
18 Florian Janits 25
19 Kimmy Larsson 24
20 Brian Kroon 20
21 Markus Klisa 18