Home Featured Logan Sargeant claims maiden Formula Renault Eurocup pole at Spa

Logan Sargeant claims maiden Formula Renault Eurocup pole at Spa

by Bethonie Waring

Logan Sargeant claimed his first Formula Renault Eurocup pole at Spa-Francorchamps, topping the times in qualifying for the second race of the weekend.

Sargeant, out in the second of the two qualifying groups, put in a time of 2m19.046s, beating MP Motorsport’s Christian Lundgaard to the top spot by just 0.061 seconds.

Lundgaard and R-ace GP driver Victor Martins spent most of the Group B session swapping places at the top of the order, before Martins’ team-mate Sargeant jumped to the top in the closing stages of the session.

Martins, who was the early pacesetter, had to settle for third fastest in the group and fifth on the grid.

Thomas Maxwell was fourth quickest in Group B, ahead of Arthur Rougier, who just pipped Frank Bird to the final top 10 spot.

Championship leader Yifei Ye was dominant in the first qualifying group, with no other driver able occupy the top spot during the session. But the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver’s 2m19.703s was only good enough for second on the grid.

Arden’s Oscar Piastri was second fastest in the group, ahead of championship challenger Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP).

Lorenzo Colombo was fourth fastest for JD Motorsport, converting into eighth on the grid, ahead of JKR’s Richard Verschoor, who will line up 10th?for the second race of the weekend.

The four drivers entered for Northern Eurocup Cup points sat at the bottom of the timesheets, with R-ace GP’s Gabriel Gandula being the best of those as a result of being in the faster second group.

Doureid Ghattas, Phil Hill and Sharon Scolari, the other NEC entrants, are now the only drivers besides Gandula eligible for the title.


Qualifying results
Group A ? Group B
1 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing 2m19.703s 1 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP 2m19.046s
2 Oscar Piastri Arden 2m19.879s 2 Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport 2m19.107s
3 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP 2m19.989s 3 Victor Martins R-ace GP 2m19.218s
4 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport 2m20.054s 4 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport 2m19.415s
5 Richard Verschoor Josef Kaufmann Racing 2m20.114s 5 Arthur Rougier Fortec Motorsports 2m19.457s
6 Jarno Opmeer MP Motorsport 2m20.267s 6 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing 2m19.659s
7 Charles Milesi R-ace GP 2m20.578s 7 Eliseo Martinez AVF 2m19.875s
8 Sami Taoufik Arden 2m20.587s 8 Alex Peroni MP Motorsport 2m19.884s
9 Nikita Volegov Arden 2m20.634s 9 Vladimir Tziortzis Fortec Motorsports 2m20.462s
10 Alexander Smolyar Tech 1 Racing 2m20.692s 10 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing 2m20.606s
11 Axel Matus AVF 2m20.780s 11 Najiy Razak JD Motorsport 2m20.761s
12 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsports 2m20.785s 12 Xavier Lloveras AVF 2m20.945s
13 Christian Munoz AVF 2m21.193s 13 Gabriel Gandula R-ace GP 2m21.320s
14 Sharon Scolari ScoRace Team 2m27.219s 14 Doureid Ghattas Anders Motorsport 2m21.826s
15 Phil Hill Anders Motorsport 2m44.889s