Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Lirim Zendeli tops Spa FIA F3 qualifying after rain hits

Lirim Zendeli tops Spa FIA F3 qualifying after rain hits

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Lirim Zendeli took pole position in a FIA Formula 3 qualifying session that was hit by rain before the finish, truncating the fight for top spot.

Zendeli was one of only a handful of drivers to set a time in the first few minutes of the session before championship newcomer Michael Belov spun at Pouhon and hit the barriers.

The Trident driver set a 2m05.393s lap before the red flags were brought out for the incident, a time none were able to improve on.

Once the track returned to green, there was only a slim window of time before the weather changed and heavy rain began.

In that time, almost the entire field ran nose to tail as everyone tried to get the best space on track for a tow.

A handful of drivers were able to set competitive times in the traffic-riddled stint. Championship leader Logan Sargeant was the quickest of the group, putting himself fourth quickest, but it was still more than 0.2s slower than third-placed Alexander Smolyar who, along with team-mate ART Grand Prix Theo Pourchaire in second, set their time in the opening minutes of the session.

As the field returned to the pits at the end of the stint, the rain began to fall. A handful of drivers attempted to head out in the usual lull to try to improve on their time despite the weather, but few improvements could be found.

David Beckmann ended the session fifth quickest, behind Sargeant, and will line up alongside Richard Verschoor.

Championship front runners Liam Lawson and Oscar Piastri took seventh and eighth respecitvely as Frederick Vesti and Alex Peroni completed the top 10.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Lirim Zendeli Trident 2m05.393s 7
2 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 2m05.596s +0.203s 7
3 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 2m05.807s +0.414s 6
4 Logan Sargeant Prema 2m06.079s +0.686s 5
5 David Beckmann Trident 2m06.112s +0.719s 6
6 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 2m06.144s +0.751s 7
7 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 2m06.172s +0.779s 6
8 Oscar Piastri Prema 2m06.206s +0.813s 5
9 Frederik Vesti Prema 2m06.315s +0.922s 5
10 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 2m06.413s +1.020s 7
11 Olli Caldwell Trident 2m06.444s +1.051s 7
12 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 2m06.468s +1.075s 7
13 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 2m06.505s +1.112s 6
14 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport 2m06.588s +1.195s 6
15 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 2m06.758s +1.365s 7
16 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 2m06.867s +1.474s 7
17 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 2m06.999s +1.606s 6
18 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System 2m07.245s +1.852s 6
19 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 2m07.504s +2.111s 6
20 Andreas Estner Campos Racing 2m07.510s +2.117s 6
21 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 2m07.530s +2.137s 7
22 David Schumacher Carlin 2m07.698s +2.305s 7
23 Clement Novalak Carlin 2m07.972s +2.579s 8
24 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System 2m08.358s +2.965s 5
25 Cameron Das Carlin 2m08.553s +3.160s 7
26 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 2m08.767s +3.374s 6
27 Pierre-Louis Chovet Hitech GP 2m08.981s +3.588s 8
28 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 2m20.969s +15.576s 8
29 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP no time 7
Michael Belov Charouz Racing System no time 2