Home Formula 2 Shwartzman sets F2 Spa pace as Alesi has bizarre incident

Shwartzman sets F2 Spa pace as Alesi has bizarre incident

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema Racing’s Robert Shwartzman was fastest in Formula 2 practice session at Spa that started with an unusual crash for fellow Ferrari Driver Academy member Giuliano Alesi.

The 45-minute session was red-flagged within seconds after HWA Racelab driver Alesi lit up the rear tyres on the pit exit and hit the barriers.

He continued up to Raidillon before parking the car, which needed clearing together with advertising hoardings that had been brought onto the circuit in the incident.

The best of the lap times came in the midpoint of the session before rain started to descend on the circuit late-on.

It was Shwartzman’s Prema team-mate Mick Schumacher who initially set the pace, but the 1m58.233s put in by Shwartzman went unbeaten.

Carlin’s Yuki Tsunoda was second-fastest, ahead of Hitech GP driver Nikita Mazepin, MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich and the other Carlin racer Jehan Daruvala.

Jack Aitken was sixth for Campos, although he had an issue after he set his time that meant he was unable to continue. He was ahead of Schumacher, who had a spin at Les Combes which briefly brought out some yellow flags.

Championship leader Callum Ilott was only 10th fastest, with the Virtuosi Racing driver behind Hitech’s Luca Ghiotto and Charouz Racing System’s Louis Deletraz.

ART Grand Prix pairing Christian Lundgaard and Marcus Armstrong could only manage 14th and 15th respectively.

Debutant Juri Vips was 17th fastest and was the sole DAMS runner after Dan Ticktum was absent from the session following an inconclusive COVID-19 test.


Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m58.233s 15
2 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m58.444s +0.211s 14
3 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 1m58.465s +0.232s 16
4 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m58.510s +0.277s 13
5 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m58.634s +0.401s 16
6 Jack Aitken Campos 1m58.749s +0.516s 10
7 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m58.848s +0.615s 10
8 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 1m58.945s +0.712s 13
9 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1m58.981s +0.748s 15
10 Callum Ilott Virtuosi 1m59.065s +0.832s 15
11 Marino Sato Trident 1m59.075s +0.842s 14
12 Nobuharu Matsushita MP 1m59.082s +0.849s 12
13 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m59.304s +1.071s 15
14 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m59.368s +1.135s 15
15 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix 1m59.429s +1.196s 14
16 Pedro Piquet Charouz 1m59.476s +1.243s 15
17 Juri Vips DAMS 1m59.597s +1.364s 15
18 Roy Nissany Trident 1m59.789s +1.556s 15
19 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 1m59.995s +1.762s 13
20 Guilherme Samaia Campos 2m02.582s +4.349s 13
21 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 0
DNP Dan Ticktum DAMS