Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Kevin Jorg triumphs in second Eurocup race at Moscow Raceway

Kevin Jorg triumphs in second Eurocup race at Moscow Raceway

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Jean Michel Le Meur / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Jean Michel Le Meur / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Kevin Jorg became the sixth different race-winner in just as many races of the 2014 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 campaign.

Jorg made a better start than polesitter Nyck de Vries and managed to take the inside line into turn one despite the Dutchman’s attempts to block him.

The Dutchman ended up forced wide with Alex Albon into turn one and the two rejoined the track in second and third, with Jorg assuming the lead ahead.

Jorg and de Vries then managed to pull away from Albon during the opening laps as the Thai racer came under pressure from Fortec’s Matt Parry.

Out front, Jorg led de Vries by a second and a half at the race’s halfway point, yet the Dutchman managed to significantly close the gap over the subsequent laps. Having gotten as close as 0.6s, de Vries did not find an opportunity to get by and eventually had to settle for second place.

After 18 laps, Jorg took the checkered flag, celebrating his first win in the series. De Vries finished second, while Albon successfully managed to hold on to third.

Parry settled for fourth, ahead of Dennis Olsen and Andrea Pizzitola. Local guest driver Matevos Isaakyan led yesterday’s winner Aurelien Panis in seventh, while Egor Orudzhev and Callan O’Keeffe completed the top ten.

Due to Isaakyan’s status as a guest racer, Ryan Tveter managed to secure his first points finish in the series with 11th place.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 18 laps in 28:01.419
2 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP +0.768
3 Alexander Albon KTR +2.558
4 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +3.237
5 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +4.174
6 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +4.651
7 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +5.782
8 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +6.424
9 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +7.007
10 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +7.883
11 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +16.349
12 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +17.550
13 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +17.702
14 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP +18.996
15 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +22.678
16 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +25.592
17 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +26.378
18 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport +31.910
19 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +33.455
20 Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing +35.460
21 Gregor Ramsay KTR +37.267
22 George Russell Koiranen GP +37.791
23 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +39.101
24 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing +39.305
25 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP +43.069
26 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing +44.746
Not classified
Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +5 laps
DNS Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam