Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 NEC Janits celebrates maiden single-seater victory in first Zolder race

Janits celebrates maiden single-seater victory in first Zolder race

by Gruz David
Floian Janits

Photo: FR1.6 NEC Junior

Austrian Florian Janits took a lights-to-flag victory in the first Formula Renault 1.6 NEC race at Zolder.

Although it was Larry ten Voorde who took pole position on Thursday, a technical problem forced him to start both races of the weekend from last place.

As a result, Janits inherited the first grid position and he kept it after the start, which saw three drivers, Marcel Lenerz, Paul Sieljes and Boris Kolff retire, forcing the safety car to enter the track.

When the race resumed with nine minutes to go, Janits maintained his leading position, however, Anton de Pasquale, who was running second, lost two spots to Janneau Esmeijer and Ralf Aron.

Without any changes until the finish, the order of the top four was Janits, Esmeijer, Aron and De Pasquale.

Oliver Soderstrom and Ferdinand Habsburg took fifth and sixth respectively, followed by Larry ten Voorde, who completed a good recovery race.

A close fight for eighth saw Nico Otto taking it by only 0.028s to Max Defourny, as Cedric Piro completed the ten finishers.

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Florian Janits Lechner Racing School 10 laps in 20:47.458
2 Janneau Esmeijer Provily Racing +2.486
3 Ralf Aron Scuderia Nordica +2.923
4 Anton De Pasquale Lechner Racing School +3.553
5 Oliver Soderstrom Scuderia Nordica +7.002
6 Ferdinand Habsburg Lechner Racing School +8.059
7 Larry ten Voorde MB Motorsport +8.161
8 Nico Otto Captain Racing +12.114
9 Max Defourny Lechner Racing School +12.142
10 Cedric Piro Pirosports +28.288
Not classified
Marcel Lenerz Stuart Racing Team +10 laps
Paul Sieljes Stuart Racing Team +10 laps
Boris Kolff Provily Racing +10 laps