Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Haverkort stripped of maiden FREC podium at Imola

Haverkort stripped of maiden FREC podium at Imola

by Peter Allen

Photo: FRECA

Kas Haverkort’s maiden podium in the Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine has been taken away from him after his Van Amersfoort Racing car failed post-race scrutineering.

Haverkort finished third race in two at Imola behind Gabriele Mini and Dino Beganovic, continuing a strong start to the season in which he had finished every race so far in the top five.

However, he was later disqualified from the race after the technical delegate declared the brake calliper piston seals on his car to be non-compliant.

Specifically, they were found to have “a degree of hardness different from original” when tested with a durometer.

The stewards confirmed the parts must be used exactly as supplied by the manufacturer, and stated that VAR “admitted that the sealed callipers are different compared to the original, and recognised the fact”.

Haverkort, the 2020 Spanish Formula 4 champion, had climbed to second in the championship behind Beganovic with his podium finish, but that disqualification now drops him to sixth in the standings.

R-ace GP driver Gabriel Bortoleto was promoted to the final podium position – his first of the season – ahead of team-mate Hadrien David and Michael Belov.

The stewards also gave a post-race penalty to Prema driver Hamda Al Qubaisi after she used FREC’s new-for-2022 push-to-pass button before crossing the start-finish line after the race was resumed behind the safety car following a red flag.

Ten seconds were added to Al Qubaisi’s time, demoting her from 29th to 31st in the final results after Haverkort’s disqualification.

Revised race result (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 52m44.263s
2 Dino Beganovic Prema Racing +0.262s
3 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP +0.874s
4 Hadrien David R-ace GP +1.077s
5 Michael Belov MP Motorsport +1.257s
6 Paul Aron Prema Racing +1.752s
7 Tim Tramnitz Trident +2.548s
8 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +2.683s
9 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing +3.134s
10 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +3.451s
11 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP +3.685s
12 Joshua Duerksen Arden Motorsport +3.899s
13 Laurens Van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +4.847s
14 Roman Bilinski Trident +5.157s
15 Noel Leon Arden Motorsport +7.181s
16 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing +7.561s
17 Eduardo Barrichello Arden Motorsport +9.210s
18 Dilano Van’t Hoff MP Motorsport +10.521s
19 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport +11.145s
20 Esteban Masson FA Racing +12.990s
21 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix +13.137s
22 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing +13.574s
23 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport +14.797s
24 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport +15.013s
25 Keith Donegan RPM +15.865s
26 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing +16.010s
27 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing +17.024s
28 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing +18.979s
29 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +19.372s
30 Han Cenyu Monolite Racing +21.847s
31 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema Racing +29.148s
32 Victor Bernier FA Racing +2 laps
Ret Pietro Delli Guanti RPM
Ret Sebastian Montoya Prema Racing
DSQ Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +0.592s
Fastest lap: Mini, 1m42.595s

Championship standings
Beganovic 86   2 Aron 48   3 Mini 40   4 Belov 38   5 Boya 32   6 Haverkort 32   7 Bortoleto 31   8 David 31   9 Montoya 20   10 Fluxa 15