Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Felix Rosenqvist eases to race two victory at Hockenheim

Felix Rosenqvist eases to race two victory at Hockenheim

by Peter Allen
Felix Rosenqvist

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship

Felix Rosenqvist claimed a comfortable second win of the FIA F3 European Championship season in race two at Hockenheim.

Starting from pole position, Rosenqvist kept the lead at the start and had opened up a nine-second lead by the end of the 22-lap race, despite being held up by a backmarker late on.

The result was the F3 veteran’s seventh win at the German circuit on his 28th start.

Rookie Charles Leclerc couldn’t keep up with Rosenqvist but still claimed his fourth consecutive podium.

Unlike in race one, German prospect Maximilian Gunther was able to hold on to third place for much of the race, but the Mucke Motorsport driver eventually succumbed to the attention of championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi.

The Italian completed a move exiting the hairpin with less than five laps to go to keep up his 100 per cent podium record so far this season.

Callum Ilott lost fourth to team-mate Giovinazzi early on but still claimed his best result in F3 so far, while sixth was Santino Ferrucci‘s best finish of the season to date.

Markus Pommer had been due to finish seventh but his Motopark car suddenly slowed on the final lap, dropping him down to 17th.

That promoted Gustavo Menezes to seventh and Alex Albon to eighth. George Russell came from 18th on the grid to ninth, with he and Brandon Maisano managing to pass Mikkel Jensen as the race wore on.

Jake Dennis failed to get away for the formation lap from seventh on the grid, forcing him to start from the pits. He finished 15th, one place behind his Prema team-mate Lance Stroll who was relegated down the order by first-lap contact.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 22 laps in 34:17.939
2 Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing +9.065
3 Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin +12.888
4 Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport +16.576
5 Callum Ilott Carlin +21.924
6 Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport +23.058
7 Gustavo Menezes Carlin +31.552
8 Alex Albon Signature +32.172
9 George Russell Carlin +33.082
10 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam +34.679
11 Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport +39.781
12 Fabian Schiller West-Tec +40.495
13 Raoul Hyman West-Tec +41.182
14 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam +46.975
15 Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam +48.935
16 Matt Rao Fortec Motorsports +52.141
17 Markus Pommer Motopark +52.948
18 Martin Cao Fortec Motorsports +54.623
19 Sam MacLeod Motopark +54.984
20 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec Motorsports +55.319
21 Tatiana Calderon Carlin +55.816
22 Nabil Jeffri Motopark +58.217
23 Nicolas Pohler Double R Racing +59.621
24 Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport +1:01.124
25 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark +1:04.807
26 Matt Solomon Double R Racing +1:06.095
27 Julio Moreno T-Sport +1:06.870
28 Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport +1:09.835
29 Peter Li Fortec Motorsports +1:17.488
30 Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing +1:27.960
31 Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark +1 lap
32 Dorian Boccolacci Signature +1 lap
Not classified
Ryan Tveter Carlin +19 laps
Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing +22 laps