Home Formula 3GB3 Fast-starting Azman wins for Carlin in BRDC British F3 at Carlin

Fast-starting Azman wins for Carlin in BRDC British F3 at Carlin

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Nazim Azman secured his first BRDC British Formula 3 race win of the season after a storming start from fourth on the grid at Brands Hatch.

The Carlin driver jumped up to first as those ahead of him on the grid struggled to get away and wouldn’t relinquish the position throughout the 14-lap race.

Reece Ushijima and Bart Horsten stuck close to Azman early on as the trio broke away from the rest of the field, but it wasn’t long before Oliver Clarke and Kiern Jewiss joined them at the front.

For a while the top five were relatively evenly spaced, each around 0.5s away from the drivers ahead of them but as Jewiss began to close that gap to Clarke the top three were able to break away again.

Azman finished a comfortable 0.699s ahead of Ushijima to take his first and Carlin’s fourth win of the season.

Horsten took third a further 0.443s back for Lanan Racing. Clarke held off Jewiss to take fourth.

Further back down the order, both Kaylen Frederick and Kush Maini struggled to make up positions. Maini, who started two positions ahead of Frederick, climbed up to 11th, while Frederick finished 0.482s behind him in 12th. They remain level on points heading into the third race of the weekend.

Ulysse de Pauw secured the fastest lap of the race on the final lap as he tried to close the gap to sixth placed Benjamin Pedersen. He came home seventh, just ahead of Josh Skelton as Josh Mason and Sasakorn Chaimongkol completed the top 10.


Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nazim Azman Carlin 19m29.899s
2 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +0.699s
3 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing +1.142s
4 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +2.807s
5 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +3.136s
6 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +3.856s
7 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +4.328s
8 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +6.868s
9 Josh Mason Lanan Racing +7.153s
10 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +7.460s
11 Kush Maini Hitech GP +8.246s
12 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +8.728s
13 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +9.030s
14 Louis Foster Double R Racing +9.206s
15 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +12.394s
16 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +18.033s
Fastest lap: De Pauw, 1m21.557s

Championship standings:
1 Frederick 168   2 Maini 168  Jewiss 158   4 Azman 144   5 Foster 138   6 Skelton 134   7 de Pauw 120   8 Clarke 105   9 Pedersen 105   10 Prior 102