Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Derani wins second Teretonga race from pole

Derani wins second Teretonga race from pole

by Peter Allen

Pipo Derani claimed a race win on his first weekend in the Toyota Racing Series as he led the second race of the weekend at Teretonga from pole position until the chequered flag.

Derani held off the advances off his Fortec F3 teammate Felix Serralles, who had convinced the Brazilian to travel to New Zealand to take part in the championship. Serralles started third but passed Bruno Bonifacio at the start.

Behind Bonifacio at the finish was ex-Fortec man Alex Lynn, who dealt a blow in the title battle by re-passing M2 teammate and defending champion Nick Cassidy a few laps from the end. Race 1 winner Lucas Auer was unable to advance beyond the sixth place that he started from on the reverse grid.

Steijn Schothorst took seventh ahead of local Damon Leitch, Jann Mardenborough and Nicolas Latifi.

The safety car made an appearance after Andrew Tang stopped on track, but the Singaporean karting graduate eventually managed to get going again.

The weekend’s 20-lap feature race for the ‘Spirit of a Nation’ trophy takes place at 15:00 local time (GMT+13), with Serralles starting from pole position.

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap Laps
1 Pipo Derani Giles Motorsport 15m28.566s 15
2 Felix Serralles Giles Motorsport +0.784s 15
3 Alex Lynn M2 Competition +2.362s 15
4 Nick Cassidy M2 Competition +3.681s 15
5 Lucas Auer Giles Motorsport +4.261s 15
6 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition +6.442s 15
7 Bruno Bonifacio Giles Motorsport +7.741s* 15
8 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +8.007s 15
9 Jann Mardenborough ETEC Motorsport +8.733s 15
10 Nicholas Latifi Giles Motorsport +9.109s 15
11 Tatiana Calderon ETEC Motorsport +9.508s 15
12 Tanart Satienthirakul ETEC Motorsport +9.787s 15
13 Akash Nandy ETEC Motorsport +11.284s 15
14 Spike Goddard M2 Competition +11.566s 15
15 Dennis Olsen M2 Competition +12.706s 15
16 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +16.974s 15
17 Ryan Cullen M2 Competition +21.179s 15
18 Andrew Tang ETEC Motorsport +2 laps 13