Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup De Vries claims commanding maiden Eurocup victory

De Vries claims commanding maiden Eurocup victory

by Peter Allen
Nyck de Vries

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

Nyck de Vries put his poor 2013 form behind him to capture his first victory in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 in dominant fashion in race two at the Hungaroring.

Starting second on the grid, the Dutchman out-dragged Oliver Rowland on the run down to turn one to take the lead. Rowland was then demoted to third when Oscar Tunjo passed him around the outside at turn two.

Over the remainder of the race, De Vries gradually opened up a 4.8 second lead with a series of fastest laps.

The order at the front end of the race remained fairly static throughout, with Tunjo shaking off some early pressure from Rowland to finish in second with the British driver completing the podium in third.

With Pierre Gasly finishing fifth behind Esteban Ocon, Rowland re-gains the points lead he lost to Gasly on Saturday and now leads the standings by one point.

Ignazio D’Agosto was sixth ahead of Ed Jones, Egor Orudzhev, Jake Dennis and Andrea Pizzitola.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck De Vries Koiranen GP 16 laps in 27:47.705
2 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing +4.851
3 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport +5.865
4 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team +7.211
5 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing +7.996
6 Ignazio D’Agosto KTR +11.477
7 Edward Jones Fortec Motorsports +12.085
8 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +12.931
9 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports +13.510
10 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +14.033
11 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam +14.517
12 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing +15.646
13 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +17.550
14 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +18.347
15 Matthieu Vaxiviere Tech 1 Racing +19.328
16 William Vermont ARTA Engineering +21.786
17 Alex Albon KTR +22.348
18 Aurelien Panis Prema Powerteam +22.764
19 Yu Kanamaru KTR +26.900
20 Benjamin Bailly RC Formula +28.956
21 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports +29.837
22 Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP +31.601
23 Victor Franzoni Koiranen GP +34.312
24 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport +39.546
25 Gregor Ramsay Manor MP Motorsport +42.537
26 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +47.235
27 Ryan Tveter Fortec Motorsports +47.683
28 Leo Roussel ARTA Engineering +51.084
29 Francisco Mora Interwetten.com Racing +1:03.347
30 Levin Amweg Jenzer Motorsport + 1 lap
31 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport 11 laps
Not classified
  Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing 0 laps
  Roman Mavlanov RC Formula 0 laps