Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 NEC De Pasquale leads Lechner 1-2-3-4 in second Zandvoort race

De Pasquale leads Lechner 1-2-3-4 in second Zandvoort race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Newly-crowned Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior champion Anton De Pasquale claimed his second victory of the final weekend at Zandvoort.

The Australian started the second race of the weekend from pole and comfortably converted it into his ninth win of the campaign.

De Pasquale built up a gap to his teammate Ferdinand Habsburg in the early laps of the race and then coasted to the finish, taking the checkered flag 4.6s in the clear.

Florian Janits took third, while Max Defourny held off Boris Kolff to make it an all-Lechner top four.

Ralf Aron finished sixth ahead of Paul Sieljes, with Oliver Soderstrom, Laurents Horr and Jakob Schober completed the top ten.

2013 champion Roy Geerts ran in fourth early on but ended up retiring from the race after seven laps.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Anton De Pasquale Lechner Racing School 12 laps in 21:34.832
2 Ferdinand Habsburg Lechner Racing School +4.620
3 Florian Janits Lechner Racing School +5.978
4 Max Defourny Lechner Racing School +12.434
5 Boris Kolff Provily Racing +12.841
6 Ralf Aron Scuderia Nordica +14.560
7 Paul Sieljes Stuart Racing Team +15.121
8 Oliver Soderstrom Scuderia Nordica +18.295
9 Laurents Horr Dutt Motorsport +19.335
10 Jakob Schober Lechner Racing School +21.679
11 Nico Otto Captain Racing +26.042
12 Cedric Piro Pirosports +32.356
Not classified
Roy Geerts Stuart Racing Team +5 laps