Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Aitken wins again in race two to lead by 13 points into finale

Aitken wins again in race two to lead by 13 points into finale

by Peter Allen
Jack Aitken

Photo: Jean-Michel Le Meur/DPPI

Jack Aitken won again in another weather-interrupted Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 race at Jerez to build himself a 13-point lead to take into Sunday’s deciding race.

As had been the case in race one, the race began behind the safety car and then went to a red flag, this time almost immediately after Danylo Pronenko found the gravel.

The rain did stop and conditions improved. Once more, polesitter Aitken led after the restart until a second safety car appearance when Anthoine Hubert and Valentin Hasse-Clot collided.

The final restart came with just one lap remaining, which Aitken controlled to beat Ignazio D’Agosto to the chequered flag by six tenths of a second.

Unlike in race one, Ben Barnicoat‘s car lasted until the end for him to be able to finish third ahead of the Swiss Josef Kaufmann Racing duo of Kevin Jorg and Louis Deletraz.

Having started day tied for the standings lead and seven points ahead of Aitken, Jorg and Deletraz are now 13 and 21 points adrift respectively with 25 available for winning Sunday’s finale – which comes with its own morning qualifying session.

The three category veterans are now the only drivers who can win the title, as Hubert needed to outscore Aitken to keep his chances alive.

While the top five positions remained static during the race, there was some movement behind that as Dennis Olsen was pushed back to eighth by Matevos Isaakyan and Jake Hughes?either side of the safety car period.

Simon Gachet and Martin Kodric completed the top 10 after Ukyo Sasahara had an off-track moment to drop him to 17th.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 13 laps in 50:34.002
2 Ignazio D’Agosto Manor MP Motorsport +0.622
3 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +1.779
4 Kevin J?rg Josef Kaufmann Racing +3.021
5 Louis Del?traz Josef Kaufmann Racing +3.635
6 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +3.975
7 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP +5.122
8 Dennis Olsen Manor MP Motorsport +5.644
9 Simon Gachet Tech 1 Racing +5.835
10 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +7.377
11 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport +7.534
12 Harrison Scott AVF +8.131
13 Amaury Richard ARTA Engineering +8.791
14 Jehan Daruvala Fortec Motorsports +9.585
15 Darius Oskoui ART Junior Team +10.134
16 Denis Bulatov AVF +10.656
17 Ukyo Sasahara ART Junior Team +12.482
18 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +13.819
19 Julien Falchero GSK Grand Prix +14.955
20 Max Defourny ART Junior Team +16.018
21 Vasiliy Romanov Cram Motorsport +17.317
Not classified
Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +6 laps
Valentin Hasse-Clot Fortec Motorsports +6 laps
Bruno Baptista Manor MP Motorsport +8 laps
James Allen ARTA Engineering +9 laps
Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport +10 laps
Danylo Pronenko BVM Srl +13 laps