Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Aitken quickest in practice for Alps round at Spa

Aitken quickest in practice for Alps round at Spa

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Florent Gooden / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Florent Gooden / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Formula Renault 2.0 Alps championship leader Jack Aitken topped the sole practice session of round four at Spa-Francorchamps.

Aitken held the lead for much of the session and eventually cemented his position at the top with a late improvement.

Russian duo Matevos Isaakyan and Vasily Romanov followed suit in second and third, both within two tenths of the Brit.

But Koiranen’s imperious form from last Alps round at Spielberg does not appear to have evaporated, as Jake Hughes, who had claimed his first Eurocup win at Spa last weekend, and Stefan Riener made it three cars in the top five for the Finnish team.

Thiago Vivacqua was sixth ahead of Dorian Boccolacci, the FIA F3 regular practising with the Alps field to prepare for his main championship’s Spa round. His fellow F3 racers Alessio Lorandi and Mahaveer Raghunathan were also present, finishing tenth and 16th, albeit unlike Boccolacci, both are expected to take part in the actual races.

GSK’s Denis Bulatov and ARTA’s James Allen slotted in between Boccolacci and Lorandi.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 2:18.234 19
2 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 2:18.338 0.104 29
3 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport 2:18.401 0.167 35
4 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP 2:18.449 0.215 21
5 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP 2:18.632 0.398 23
6 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport 2:18.763 0.529 26
7 Dorian Boccolacci ARTA Engineering 2:19.006 0.772 30
8 Denis Bulatov GSK Grand Prix 2:19.923 1.689 32
9 James Allen ARTA Engineering 2:19.953 1.719 31
10 Alessio Lorandi GSK Grand Prix 2:20.243 2.009 28
11 Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP 2:20.382 2.148 8
12 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP 2:20.390 2.156 23
13 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix 2:20.542 2.308 33
14 TJ Fischer Cram Motorsport 2:20.658 2.424 36
15 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing 2:21.005 2.771 18
16 Mahaveer Raghunathan Cram Motorsport 2:22.041 3.807 32