Home Formula 4ADAC F4 ADAC F4 debutant Lando Norris wins final Spa race

ADAC F4 debutant Lando Norris wins final Spa race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ADAC F4

Photo: ADAC F4

It took MSA Formula frontrunner Lando Norris just three attempts to win in ADAC F4 as he prevailed in the third race of the Spa round.

Norris, having finished the first two races in fourth and second, started the final outing from seventh and fought through to become Mucke’s first winner in the series.

Jenzer’s Marek Bockmann started the race from reverse-grid pole and duly led into turn one, while fellow front row occupant Giorgio Maggi was slow off the line, letting Janneau Esmeijer and a number of others through.

Esmeijer was then tapped into a spin in La Source by Ralf Aron and Maggi retook second, only to be swarmed over the opening lap as he fell to eighth.

Second was now with the fast-starting Norris and the Briton wasted little time catching up to Bockmann. On lap three, he was already all over the race lead, having a serious look into Les Combes before overtaking the Jenzer driver further in the lap.

Bockmann was then also passed by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Joseph Mawson, whose teammate Mick Schumacher went off further down the order, chasing after Motopark’s Michael Waldherr.

That incident did not bring out the safety car but the next one did shortly thereafter – just as Robert Shwartzman passed Bockmann, Aron went into the wall at Pouhon.

The race restarted with less than ten minutes to go and Norris calmly maintained the lead, while Mawson held second. Behind them, Shwartzman and points leader Joel Eriksson were fighting hard for third, while Bockmann spun out behind.

Shwartzman passed Eriksson at Bus Stop, crossing the start-finish line in third, only to run wide at La Source and give up the spot.

But Neuhauser’s Kim-Luis Schramm got a fantastic run out of Eau Rouge and cleared them both heading into Les Combes.

Schramm’s effort, however, would not stand as a big crash for Jannes Fittje left his car without left wheels and brought out the safety car, only to be swiftly followed by race-ending red flags.

The race was rolled back to lap nine and it was Shwartzman who got to join Norris and Mawson on the podium.

Eriksson took fourth ahead of Neuhauser teammates Schramm and Tim Zimmermann, while David Beckmann nursed a damaged front wing from the very start to take seventh.

Waldherr, Guan Yu Zhou and Alain Valente completed the points.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Lando Norris Mucke Motorsport 9 laps in 23:05.616
2 Joseph Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing +0.881
3 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +3.579
4 Joel Eriksson Motopark +3.813
5 Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +3.954
6 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +4.331
7 David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +4.946
8 Michael Waldherr Motopark +5.967
9 Guan Yu Zhou Prema Powerteam +6.074
10 Alain Valente Race Performance +6.794
11 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +7.174
12 Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +8.013
13 Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider +8.238
14 Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team +8.681
15 Jannes Fittje Motopark +8.931
16 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +9.775
17 Mike David Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +9.989
18 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +11.391
19 Toni Wolff Piro Sports +11.763
20 Robin Brezina Privateer +12.267
21 Jason Kremer Team Timo Scheider +13.168
22 Job van Uitert Privateer +13.591
23 Arlind Hoti Jenzer Motorsport +13.634
24 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +14.360
25 Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +15.323
26 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +15.949
27 Carrie Schreiner HTP Junior Team +16.141
28 Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +16.362
29 Jan Jonck RS Competition +16.652
30 Marylin Niederhauser Race Performance +19.906
31 Michelle Halder Privateer +20.209
32 Glenn Rupp RS Competition +31.119
33 Florian Janits Lechner Racing +1 lap
34 Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing +1 lap
Not classified
Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +4 laps
Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +6 laps