Home Formula 3Euroformula Yifei Ye takes pole for second Euroformula race at Hungaroring

Yifei Ye takes pole for second Euroformula race at Hungaroring

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

CryptoTower Racing Team’s Yifei Ye took pole for the second Euroformula race of the season at the Hungaroring.

The Chinese driver took the race one pole and victory, and followed that up with an improved pace to take race two pole.

Ye was on top after the first qualifying runs, and after a change of tyres he hung back from traffic before improving twice and breaking into the 1m32s around the circuit in the new Dallara 320.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s sibling rivalry continued, with Andreas Estner pipping his younger brother Sebastian to a spot on the front row.

Zane Maloney was a clear fourth place for Carlin once again, while Motopark’s Niklas Krutten rose to fifth in the final seconds. Most of the drivers set personal bests on the second runs, and the close battle for fifth place was decided in-part by drivers encountering traffic on their flying laps.

Ido Cohen came 0.012s short of Krutten and qualified sixth for Carlin, with Motopark’s Manuel Maldonado a further 0.048s behind in seventh.

Ayrton Simmons didn’t improve on his final effort in the sole Double R Racing car and ended up in eighth. VAR’s Alexandre Bardinon looked competitive again but could only qualify in ninth, and Ye’s team-mate Rui Andrade completed the top 10.

Drivex School duo Shihab Al Habsi and Glenn van Berlo will start race two at the back, with van Berlo over two seconds off the pace.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 1m32.936s 10
2 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.214s +0.278s 11
3 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.280s +0.344s 11
4 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m33.562s +0.626s 11
5 Niklas Krutten Motopark 1m33.837s +0.901s 11
6 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m33.849s +0.913s 12
7 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 1m33.897s +0.961s 10
8 Ayrton Simmons Double R Racing 1m34.013s +1.077s 11
9 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.270s +1.334s 13
10 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 1m34.406s +1.470s 11
11 Shihab Al Habsi Drivex School 1m34.907s +1.971s 12
12 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 1m35.040s +2.104s 12