Home Featured Ye quickest again at Hockenheim Eurocup test ahead of Verschoor and Lundgaard

Ye quickest again at Hockenheim Eurocup test ahead of Verschoor and Lundgaard

by Peter Allen


Yifei Ye set the quickest time again on the second day of the Formula Renault Eurocup pre-season test at Hockenheim, as rookie Christian Lundgaard impressed.

Ye topped the morning session with a time of 1m36.852s, bettering his mark of 1m37.004s from the first day, before sitting out the afternoon.

He led his Josef Kaufmann Racing team-mate Richard Verschoor by 0.214 seconds.

“We were not really looking for performance this morning,” said Ye.

“As we are confident about our speed at Hockenheim we just wanted to hone the tyres for the next collective tests. Despite just one run on new tyres and a competitor that got in my way, the time was quite good.

“This is a perfect start to the season and I hope that we will continue like this.”

Renault Sport Academy driver Lundgaard was only 0.02s behind Verschoor in third for MP Motorsport, and he then?went one thousandth of a second faster in the afternoon to top the later session, 0.3s ahead of his fellow rookie Lorenzo Colombo (JD Motorsport).

Colombo had been fifth in the morning behind another Renault protege Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP), with Oscar Piastri sixth for Arden.

Logan Sargeant, Alex Peroni, Alexander Vartanyan and Max Defourny rounded out the top 10 in the morning.

Sargeant improved his time to beat team-mate Fewtrell to third in the afternoon session, with Victor Martins going fifth to edge Defourny for a place in the day’s top 10.

Red Bull Junior Neil Verhagen, who topped every official Eurocup test day at the end of last year, finished the day slowest of the 29 drivers, 2.75s off Ye’s pace.

Day two times

Pos Name Team Morning Afternoon
1 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:36.852 No time
2 Richard Verschoor Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:37.066 1:37.913
3 Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport 1:37.086 1:37.085
4 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP 1:37.391 1:37.677
5 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport 1:37.411 1:37.394
6 Oscar Piastri Arden 1:37.420 1:38.031
7 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP 1:37.586 1:37.569
8 Alex Peroni MP Motorsport 1:37.593 1:38.164
9 Alexander Vartanyan Arden 1:37.645 1:38.418
10 Victor Martins R-ace GP 1:37.756 1:37.677
11 Max Defourny MP Motorsport 1:37.680 1:38.687
12 Alexander Smolyar Tech 1 Racing 1:37.686 1:37.690
13 Clement Novalak Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:37.695 1:38.636
14 Charles Milesi R-ace GP 1:37.794 1:37.799
15 Arthur Rougier Fortec Motorsports 1:37.911 1:38.931
16 Xavier Lloveras AVF 1:37.952 1:39.787
17 Eliseo Martinez AVF 1:38.038 1:38.689
18 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing 1:38.085 1:38.432
19 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing 1:38.223 1:38.788
20 Vladimir Tziortzis Fortec Motorsports 1:38.266 1:38.936
21 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsports 1:38.276 1:39.357
22 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport 1:38.375 1:39.197
23 Najiy Razak JD Motorsport 1:38.562 1:40.105
24 Jordan Cane Fortec Motorsports 1:38.670 1:39.807
25 Sami Taoufik Arden 1:38.841 1:38.968
26 Axel Matus AVF 1:39.009 1:39.649
27 Phil Hill Anders Motorsport 1:40.334 1:39.160
28 Christian Munoz AVF 1:39.805 1:39.471
29 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing 1:39.667 1:39.602