Home Formula 4Danish F4 Victor Nielsen leads Danish F4 field in Jyllandsringen qualifying

Victor Nielsen leads Danish F4 field in Jyllandsringen qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Victor Nielsen will start the first Danish Formula 4 race of the weekend at Jyllandsringen from pole.

The STEP Motorsport driver was over a quarter of a second faster than anyone else in qualifying, having only been sixth fastest in free practice, and he was also on top for most of the session too.

His third flying lap, a 1m07.997s, sent him to the top of the times and it was straight away the fastest lap of the weekend as drivers switched to fresh tyres for qualifying.

STEP team-mate Julius Dinesen was second quickest at first, but got shuffled to third by Team FormulaSport’s Theodor Jensen. However Jensen could improve on his mid-session pace while Dinesen could, as towards the end of the session he found just under a tenth of a second to move himself back onto the front row.

Nielsen meanwhile set a 1m07.951s in the middle of qualifying to take his first pole.

Mika Abrahams was the top Team FSP driver in fourth, and Jensen’s team-mate Sebastian Gravlund qualified fifth on his series return with a late improvement.

Mads Hoe was the top Formula 5 driver in sixth place, and MP Racing’s Magnus Pedersen was seventh. He was eight tenths slower than Nielsen but almost two third of a second quicker than FSP’s Alex Coby and SD Racing’s Frederik Stena in eighth and ninth. Stena ended his session with a spin.

Qualifying results [F5 entrants in italics]

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Nielsen STEP Motorsport 1m07.951s 8
2 Julius Dinesen STEP Motorsport 1m08.214s +0.263s 15
3 Theodor Jensen Team FormulaSport 1m08.254s +0.303s 9
4 Mika Abrahams Team FSP 1m08.265s +0.314s 14
5 Sebastian Gravlund Team FormulaSport 1m08.321s +0.370s 15
6 Mads Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport 1m08.580s +0.629s 12
7 Magnus Pedersen MP Racing 1m08.821s +0.870s 15
8 Alyx Coby Team FSP 1m09.473s +1.522s 10
9 Frederik Stena SD Racing 1m09.473s +1.522s 9
10 Aurelia Nobels STEP Motorsport 1m09.583s +1.632s 14
11 Lind Sonderskov Sonderskov Motorsport 1m10.020s +2.069s 13
12 Mille Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport 1m10.479s +2.528s 9
13 Peter Henriksen Henriksen Racing 1m12.301s +4.350s 13
14 Michella Rasmussen Henriksen Racing 1m14.661s +6.710s 14